UNMC header bar
College Connections

An electronic newsletter from the College of Pharmacy

October, 2014
Class of 2018

Our Fifteenth Annual White Coat Ceremony took place on August 20 at the Michael F. Sorrell Events Center.


Fifty-five students received their professional white laboratory jackets provided by alumni and friends of the College of Pharmacy and the University of Nebraska Foundation and took the pledge of professionalism.


Chancellor Jeffrey Gold welcomed the students.  Brian Trevarrow, Pharm.D., Clinical Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice, delivered the keynote presentation on the image of a pharmacist.  Dan Bailey, P4, also shared his reflections as a Pharmacy student.


Former Associate Dean for Student Affairs, Charles Krobot, Pharm.D., and current Associate Dean for Student Affairs, Christopher Shaffer, Pharm.D., welcomed the class of 2018 to the Ceremony and assisted with the presentation of the white coats to the students.


The College of Pharmacy Open House followed where the new students and their families and friends were invited to mingle with faculty, students and staff.  

Welcome Drs. Downes and Podany

Jessica Downes, Pharm.D., Clinical Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice, is a new faculty member at the College of Pharmacy.
Interests: Dr. Downes practices in ambulatory care at the One World Community Health Centers, Inc.  Her interests include diabetes and cardiovascular risk reduction. Research interests include transitions of care and healthy literacy awareness.


Teaching Activities: Dr. Downes is a preceptor for the Ambulatory Care II rotation beginning in the summer of 2015 where students will work collaboratively with the Family Medicine team to provide medication management and education to both patients and providers.


Previous positions: PGY-2 Ambulatory Care Residency at University of Oklahoma-Tulsa College of Pharmacy in Tulsa, OK; PGY-1 Pharmacy Practice Residency at Integris Baptist Medical Center in Oklahoma City, OK
Education: Pharm.D., University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kansas 


Anthony Podany, Pharm.D., Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice, is a new faculty member at the College of Pharmacy.
Interests: Dr. Podany's research focuses on the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of antiretroviral drugs targeted at the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV). The ultimate goal of his research is to optimize pharmacotherapy of the HIV-infected individual so as to bring about superior health outcomes.  Dr. Podany is an active pharmacologist on many AIDS Clinical Trials Group (ACTG) studies, both domestic and international. 
Teaching Activities:  Dr. Podany teaches in the Pharmacotherapy course on topics related to HIV infection and associated opportunistic infections.  He also lectures in the Intro to Drug Information Course given to 1st year pharmacy students.  Dr. Podany is also a preceptor for 4th year APPE students at the Specialty Care Clinic at UNMC with a focus on care of HIV infected adults and adolescents.

Education: Pharm.D., UNMC College of Pharmacy


Fall Honors Convocation

Drs. Dering-Anderson
& Fletcher

The 2014 Annual College of Pharmacy Fall Honors Convocation was held on October 16.  Over $600,000 in scholarships and other leadership awards and prizes were presented.  Dr. Ally Dering-Anderson, Chair of the Scholarship, Honors and Financial Aid Committee, presided at the Convocation.  


The Distinguished Teacher of the Year was also presented by Class of 2015 President, Caroline Jamison, to Dr. Ally Dering-Anderson, Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice.  Dr. Dering-Anderson was named the distinguished teacher of the year because of her level of passion and enthusiasm for the profession, her willingness to help students succeed and follow their dreams, her entertaining and educational lectures, and being a true advocate for the profession of pharmacy.


The Distinguished Teaching Award has been presented annually since 1994 to a College of Pharmacy faculty member to recognize his or her excellence in teaching and dedication to student learning.  Each spring, the Student Advisory Committee, a committee consisting of student leaders from the College of Pharmacy, requests nominations from the student body.  The nominators must include an explanation as to why they believe the nominee should be a candidate to receive the Award.  Once all nominations have been received, the Student Advisory Committee meets to consider all nominations.


Congratulations to the scholarship/award recipients and to Dr. Dering-Anderson!

 Thank you Joe and Millie! 

The College of Pharmacy on October 20 celebrated the naming of the Joseph D. and Millie E. Williams Science Hall with an overflow crowd and a group picture to thank the building's namesakes.  read more


Student News

Phi Lambda Sigma held their induction ceremony on September 23.  They initiated twelve new members.  Dr. Christopher Shaffer, Associate Dean for Student Affairs, delivered the keynote address.



Contact Us
Upcoming Events
CDDN 10 Year Anniversary
November 7, 2014

Career Day
November 21, 2014
Lozier Center Timeline


March 2013

Architect Selection

June 2013

Funding Substantially Complete

January 2014

Design Complete

May 2014

Start Construction

October 2015

Complete Construction

December 2015

In Service




Follow Us