September 30, 2015
Vol. 2, Issue 5
Board of Trustees

Chairman of the Board
Anna U. Bustamante
District 3

Vice Chair
Dr. Yvonne Katz
District 7

Joe Alderete, Jr.
District 1

Asst. Secretary
Clint Kingsbery
District 8

Denver McClendon
District 2

Marcelo S. Casillas
District 4

Roberto Zarate
District 5

Dr. Gene Sprague
District 6

James Rindfuss
District 9

Sami C. Adames
Student Trustee


Dr. Bruce Leslie
Alamo Colleges
Chancellor Leslie Presented
San Antonio Business Journal's 2015 Top Executive Award
(l to r) Alamo Colleges Trustees Dr. Gene Sprague and Dr. Yvonne Katz, Chancellor Dr. Bruce Leslie and his wife, Cheryl Leslie, Trustee Roberto Zarate and Alamo Colleges Foundation Board Chair Mike Beldon attend the C-Suite awards luncheon.

At an awards luncheon September 24, Alamo Colleges' Chancellor Dr. Bruce Leslie was presented with the San Antonio Business  Journal's 2015 C-Suite Award in the CEO - Large Companies category. He is one of only four local CEO's to receive this award. 

The C-Suite Awards recognize innovators, trailblazers, role models, standard-setters and leaders in the community. Candidates for the C-Suite Awards were submitted by members of the community and reviewed by an independent panel of expert judges from multiple local industries. The judges scored the nominees based on a number of factors, including their contributions to company success, civic involvement and career achievement.

The C-Suite Awards are an expansion of the San Antonio Business Journal's former CFO awards  and include four categories: CEO - large companies; CEO - small/midsize companies; C-Suite -  large companies; and C-Suite small/midsize companies.

Leslie was awarded the Association of Community College Trustees Western Regional Chief Executive Officer award in 2012, having previously won the Eastern Regional Chief Executive Officer award in 1992, and is the only community college president in the nation to win the award from two regions. 

Alamo Colleges - Northwest Vista College Students Selected for National NASA Scholars Project
Alamo Colleges - Northwest Vista College students J. Ramon Vazquez Campero (l) and Jose Vazquez (r), along with Jonathan Mendoza, not pictured, will participate in NASA's Community College Aerospace Scholars Project in spring 2016.

Jonathan Mendoza, Jose Vazquez, and J. Ramon Vazquez Campero, all Alamo Colleges - Northwest Vista College engineering students, have been selected to travel to NASA's Johnson Space Center in spring 2016. They were three of the 160 community college students selected nationwide to participate in the NASA Community College Aerospace Scholars project (NCAS). NCAS gives community college science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) students an authentic NASA experience and encourages them to finish a 2-year degree or transfer to a 4-year university to pursue a NASA-related field or career. 

The five-week scholars program culminates with a four-day on-site event at Johnson Space Center and offers students the opportunity to interact with NASA engineers and others as they learn more about careers in science and engineering. While at NASA, students form teams and establish fictional companies interested in Mars exploration. Each team is responsible for developing and testing a prototype rover, forming a company infrastructure, managing a budget, and developing communications and outreach. 

The on-site experience at NASA includes a tour of facilities and briefings by NASA subject matter experts. NASA Community College Aerospace Scholars is a project funded in part by the Minority University Research and Education Program, or MUREP, which is committed to the recruitment of underrepresented and underserved students in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) to sustain a diverse workforce.

Alamo Colleges St. Philip's College
President Dr. Adena W. Loston congratulates SPC student Cynthia Hill on being selected
as a White House All-Star.

Alamo Colleges - St. Philip's College Student Named White House All-Star

Alamo Colleges - St. Philip's College radiography and honor society student Cynthia Hall has been named as one of 83 college students selected by the White House for a year-long program promoting college completion by millennials locally and nationally. The White House Initiative on Historically Black Colleges and Universities HBCU All-Stars program supports the White House's goal of helping 60 percent of Americans ages 25-34 to complete an associate or higher degree by 2020. The 85 students selected were each screened and then recognized for their accomplishments in academics, leadership and civic engagement. 

What distinguishes Hall from the group is that she is both 19 and the first All-Star from SPC, Alamo Colleges or San Antonio in this two-year-old program. Once trained in Washington, D. C., as an All-Star for the 2015-2016 academic season, Hall will give back by promoting education as a role model for college completion with national support and resources that she can share with others in San Antonio.

The Alamo Colleges mission is: empowering our diverse communities for success. Our vision is: the Alamo Colleges will be the best in the nation in student success and performance excellence. The Alamo Colleges is one district with five community colleges serving more than 90,000 students annually from Bexar County and seven other counties in our service area. We provide an affordable, quality college education that leads to associate degrees, certificates and transfers to four-year universities. Hundreds of thousands of Bexar County residents who have come through the Alamo Colleges education programs are major contributors to the economy and culture of San Antonio.