Economics Wisconsin
EW  E-News / November 2014


Money Talks Series   

L-R:  Green Bay Packers President Mark Murphy, Teacher Tim Miller, EW Education Program Advisor Scott Niederjohn, Teacher Patrick Kubeny, UW-River Falls Center Director Brian Schultz, Baird Representative Greg Thomas, and EW President Enrique Bacalao.


Over 150 teachers attended our teacher-training conferences held this fall in Green Bay and La Crosse.  K-12 teachers attended sessions including Why Is It So Difficult to Save Money But So Easy to Live Beyond Our Means?, The New World of Monetary Policy, The Affordable Care Act: Economic Projections and Implications, Is College Worth It? Covering the Student Debt Crisis, and A Primer on Taxes, among others.  


Comments from participating teachers included:


  • This is something that I definitely want to incorporate into my 4th grade class. Real world learning!
  • Extremely helpful and informative. Connected the present reality to personal finance classes w/concrete examples of how to work performance tasks.
  • Very relevant and I can bring this into my classroom right away. Love the presentation-very valuable.

The 2014 Excellence in Teaching Economics and Financial Literacy Teaching Awards were presented at the Green Bay Conference held at Lambeau Field, by Packers President Mark Murphy, Greg Thomas of Robert W. Baird & Co., and Enrique Bacalao and Scott Niederjohn of Economics Wisconsin. Mark Murphy was our featured lunchtime speaker.

Congratulations to our winners:  First Place - Ann Scharfenberg/New Richmond High School (Center Director Brian Schultz accepted the award on her behalf), Second Place - Patrick Kubeny/Rhinelander High School, and Third Place - Tim Miller/John Edwards High School. The teachers received substantial cash awards and engraved crystal apples. This awards program, sponsored by Robert W. Baird & Co., honors the outstanding performance of teachers who have created unique and innovative economic and financial literacy education lessons, units, or projects.

For further information on the Excellence in Teaching Awards program, please visit EIT Awards.

We are grateful to all of our Money Talks program presenters and sponsors, including Windway Foundation, Inc., The Vollrath Company, IBM, Fox Communities Credit Union, Department of Financial Institutions, Xcel Energy, and Kohler Foundation, Inc.


AT&T Increases Funding for
Economics for Opinion Leaders Series  


L-R:  Economics
Wisconsin President Enrique Bacalao, AT&T Services Director of External Affairs Tricia Conway, and State Representative Dale Kooyenga, R-Brookfield.


AT&T Wisconsin awarded EconomicsWisconsin a $5,000 AT&T Innovation & Investment Award in support of our Economics for Opinion Leaders seminar series.  This increased support means that we will be able to reach even more opinion leaders, including elected officials, clergy, non-profit managers, and corporate leaders, among others.  Our intention, through these seminars, is for Wisconsin's opinion leaders to gain an enhanced understanding of the key concepts of economics behind the important issues they have to address with their respective stakeholders. 

In addition to AT&T Wisconsin, financial support for Economics for Opinion Leaders is provided by the A.O. Smith Foundation, The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation, and M&I Marshall & Ilsley Foundation. 

Welcome to New Board Members
At EconomicsWisconsin's Annual Meeting, held on October 22, 2014 at ManpowerGroup Headquarters in Milwaukee, the following individuals were newly elected to three-year terms on the Board of Directors:
  • Greg Grambow, Du-Well Grinding Enterprises, Inc.
  • Robin Muller, Morgan Stanley Wealth Management
  • Shannon Whitworth, Dane County Child Support Agency and Wisconsin Institute for Law & Liberty
Elected to one-year terms as Officers of EconomicsWisconsin were Kim Kindschi - Chair, Janet Cohen - Vice Chair/Vice President of Revenue Development, Enrique Bacalao - President, Mark Plichta - Vice President of Audit and Legal, and Allan Haas - Vice President of Marketing and Public Relations.

Richard Hensley, James Hunter, Sue Nelson, Mark Plichta and Chuck Revie have agreed to serve another three-year term as Directors.

We are extremely grateful to all new and returning Directors. In addition, we wish to to express our sincere thanks and appreciation to Deborah Albright, Matt Gibson, Kevin Hanson, Mark Schug, and Dan Sweeney, who will not be renewing their membership on the Board, but who provided outstanding service throughout their terms as Directors.

A very special thank you to Greg Charlesworth, outgoing Chair, whose leadership put EconomicsWisconsin on the path to a much brighter future. Although Greg is no longer Chair, we will continue to receive the benefit of his knowledge and experience through his continued Board membership.

Show Us Your Smile!
Turn your online holiday shopping into a pain-free donation to EconomicsWisconsin! When you shop at AmazonSmile, Amazon donates 0.5% of the purchase price to EconomicsWisconsin (Wisconsin Council on Economic Education Inc.). Just bookmark and donate every time you shop!

Thank you for your support.

Quick Links...

Contact Information

(414) 221-9400 


Affiliated with