20 yrs image 
Working Today for Our Community's Tomorrow

The Portuguese-American Leadership Council of the United States

Established 1991

page break  

The Online Newsletter of PALCUS    

PALCUS congratulates Luso-American Elected Officials


Luso-Americans across the nation were successful once again in their election to federal, state and local office.  PALCUS congratulates those who continue to strive towards and to succeed in representing our community in the full measure of civic engagement by serving in public office. The following is a partial list of those newly elected and re-elected to office on November 6th.


If you know of other Luso-Americans that were elected to office, please let us know so that we are able to complete our research.  Send information to palcus@palcus.org.



U.S. House of Representatives

Jim Costa, CA # 16 (D)

David G. Valadao, CA # 21 (R)

Devin G. Nunes, CA # 22 (R)



Carol Dutra-Vernaci, Mayor,Union City, CA

Dennis Brazil, Mayor,Gustine, CA

Joe Oliveira,  City Council, Gustine, CA

Steven Nascimento, City Council, Turlock, CA

John Pedrozo, Supervisor,Merced County, CA

Duane Picanço, Mayor, Paso Robles, CA

Louis M. Andrade, Vice-President, Hayward Area Recreation & Park District, CA



CT House of Representatives

Rosa Rebimbas, District #70 (R)

      Rick Lopes, District #24 (D)



MA General Court: Senate

Marc R. Pacheco, First Plymouth & Bristol District (D)

Michael J. Rodrigues, First Bristol & Plymouth District (D)


MA General Court: House of Representatives

Antonio F. D. Cabral, Thirteenth Bristol District (D)

John V. Fernandes, Tenth Worcester District (D)

David Vieira, Third Barnstable District (R)

Alan Silvia, Seventh Bristol District (D)



Joseph Camara, City Council, Fall River, MA

      Linda Pereira, City Council, Fall River, MA

      Mark J. Santos, Bristol County Clerk of Courts, New Bedford, MA

      Sherry Costa-Hanlon, City Council, Taunton, MA

      Joseph Almeida, School Committee, Taunton, MA

      David Souza, School Committee, Taunton, MA

      Anthony Abreau, Planning Committee, Taunton, MA

      Arthur Lopes, Planning Committee, Taunton, MA

      Alan Medeiros, Planning Committee, Taunton, MA

      Joseph Amaral, Zoning Board of Appeals, Taunton, MA

      Estele Borges, Zoning Board of Appeals, Taunton, MA

      Steven Vieira, Zoning Board of Appeals, Taunton, MA

      Troy Medeiros, Zoning Board of Appeals, Taunton, MA




Armando B. Fontoura, Sheriff, Essex County, NJ

A. Tony Monteiro, Board of Education, Elizabeth, NJ

      Manuel T. Figueiredo, Union Township Committee, NJ



State Assembly: Senate

Jack Martins, Senate # 7 (R)



General Assembly: Senate

M. Teresa Paiva Weed, Senate # 13 (D)

Daniel DaPonte, Senate # 14 (D)


General Assembly: House of Representatives

Gordon D. Fox, House # 4 (D)

Joseph S. Almeida, House # 12 (D)

Charlene Lima, House # 14, (D)

Jared R. Nunes, House # 25 (D)

Lisa P. Tomasso, House # 29 (D)

Deborah A. Fellela, House # 43

Agostinho F. Silva, House # 56 (D)

William San Bento, Jr., House # 58 (D)

Helio Melo, House # 64 (D)



Antonio Teixeira, Town Administrator, Bristol, RI

      John F. Pacheco, Town Council, Burrillville, RI

      Manuel N. DaCosta, Town Council, District #1, Cumberland, RI

      Helder Cunha, Town Council Ward #2, East Providence, RI

      Thomas A. Rosa, Jr., Council Ward #3, East Providence, RI

      Anthony J. Ferreira, School Committee, Ward #2, East Providence, RI

      Richard A. Pimental, School Committee, Ward #3, East Providence, RI

      Paul M. Rodrigues, Town Council, Middletown, RI

      M. Theresa Santos, Town Council, Middletown, RI

      Robert Sylvia, Town Council, Middletown, RI

      Roderick DaSilva, School Committee, District #2, North Providence, RI

      Kimberly L. Alves, Town Council, North Smithfield, RI

      Jean Phillipe Barros, City Council, District #5, Pawtucket, RI

      Michael Anthony Araujo, School Committee, Pawtucket, RI

      Nancy L. Mello, Town Clerk, Tiverton, RI

      Denise M. deMedeiros, Town Council, Tiverton, RI

      James J. Arruda, Town Council, Tiverton, RI

      Joshua A. Mello, Budget Committee, Tiverton, RI

      David Perry, Budget Committee, Tiverton, RI

      John C. Bento, Regional School Committee, Warren, RI

Join Our Mailing List

Contact Information


Email: palcus@palcus.org

Website: www.palcus.org

Phone: 202-466-4664


9255 Center St., Suite 404

Manassas, VA 20110  


Follow PALCUS on Facebook, LinkedIn, YahooGroups and Twitter!


For daily news and infomation on events and all things Portuguese, subscribe to Angela's List on YahooGroups, officially sponsored by PALCUS.


PALCUS Mission

In order to create a singular voice to advocate  for the Portuguese American and Luso-American communities at large, the Portuguese American Leadership Council of the United States Inc. (PALCUS) was founded in 1991  as a 501 © 3 non partisan, non profit, organization headquartered in Washington D.C.
The PALCUS mission is to address domestic and international concerns of the  Portuguese American Community.
The Council conducts an expanding program of educational and public affairs activities on issues of interest to the Portuguese American community and of salience to the Luso-American Relationship.
PALCUS is committed to serving the community through increasingly active government relations efforts, the promotion of a greater awareness of ethnic accomplishments and encouraging stronger ties between Portugal and the United States. In this role PALCUS advance the community professionally, politically and culturally while working to ensure that issues directly affecting our community are addressed through our network of government and community leaders.

PALCUS is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization incorporated under the laws of the District of Columbia.  Donations are tax deductible to extent allowed by law.