Header
In This Issue
Cuttlefish
You Might Also Enjoy
Hunter and Fox
You Might Also Enjoy
Seventh Street Books™
Blackdog Shortlisted for Sunburst
Coming Soon
Don't forget to check the coupon Below

Quick Links

Browse Our Catalog Online

Pyr Spring 2012 Catalog
Pyr Catalog as a PDF




Find us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

July 2, 2012

Greetings:
 
July brings readers to the Shifted World in Philippa Ballantine's Hunter and Fox. Dave Freer explores the undersea waterways of a Britain that never was in his YA novel Cuttlefish. And we are looking forward to the launch this fall of Prometheus Books' new crime fiction imprint, Seventh Street Books™.    
Dave Freer's Cuttlefish

 

Cuttlefish "[O]ffers action aplenty, a fascinating setting, and memorable characters... [Freer] has created a fun world to explore, and he doesn't shy away from deeper themes, such as the casual racism that plagues the mixed-race Tim, courtesy of his shipmates."

-Publishers Weekly

"What a breath of fresh air! ... Do yourself a favor and buy this one, it's a great read and will have you daydreaming of sailing on a submarine."

-Absolute Forest of Words  


"[T]he story moves fast, much like a creature of the deep..."

-RT Book Reviews, three stars

"Dave Freer always delivers compelling, fast-moving and addictive fantasy adventures. Write more, Dave." - Garth Nix, author of the Abhorsen trilogy and A Confusion of Princes

In Dave Freer's Cuttlefish, the year is 1976, and the British Empire still spans the globe. Clara Calland is on the run. Hunted, along with her scientist mother, by Menshevik spies and Imperial soldiers, they flee Ireland for London. When the Imperial soldiery comes ravening, Clara and her mother are forced to flee aboard the Cuttlefish. Hunted like beasts, the submarine and her crew must undertake a desperate voyage across the world. Carried with them-a lost scientific secret that threatens the very heart of Imperial power.

 

You Might Also Enjoy
Hearts of Smoke and Steam Planesrunner The Greyfriar
 
Hunter and Fox


Hunter and Fox

"[A] highly entertaining fantasy that tips its hat at the standard fantasy tropes and then exploits them to explore issues of moral accountability in an essentially unpredictable world. It's not called the Chaosland for nothing...For me, the next episode is a must-read."

-Thinking About Books

"I really enjoy this author's work! She's pretty much on my must-buy list."" -Felicia Day, creator, writer, and star of the web series "The Guild"

"I think a lot of high/epic fantasy fans are going to like this one - I know I did, and I can't wait for the second book...So if you're looking for something completely new in the high/epic fantasy arena, try the first book in the Shifted World series, Hunter and Fox."

-Birth of a New Witch

"Philippa Ballantine is easily a master world builder but it's the richness of her characters too that held my gaze, pulled on my emotions and kept me up all night....When I give a Fantasy novel 5 stars--as I did Hunter and Fox--then you know it's a cut above the rest....you'll be gasping at the end and wondering how the book could end there!"

-Amanda Makepeace

 

In a world that is in constant shifting, where mountains can change to plains and then to lakes, Talyn is the wreck of a once-proud person. She has lost her people, the Vaerli, and her soul working for the man who destroyed her people. All unknowing, she carries within her a Kindred, a chaos creature from the center of the earth that wants to help bring the Vaerli back to power.



You Might Also Enjoy
 

Sword of Fire and Sea       The Wolf Age    Blackdog
Seventh Street Books™
Seventh Street Books logo
This fall, Prometheus Books is launching a new imprint, Seventh Street Books™, devoted to publishing quality mystery and thriller fiction.

Starting in October, Seventh Street Books, headed by Editorial Director Dan Mayer, will bring a diverse lineup of crime fiction, starting with The Bookseller by Mark Pryor, in which the bookstall owners of Paris begin to disappear, and The Ragnarök Conspiracy by Erec Stebbins, in which an FBI agent and a terrorist must work together to prevent a global catastrophe.

Pyr author Mike Resnick is part of the inaugural Seventh Dog in a Manger Street Books™ line too! In Dog in the Manger: An Eli Paxton Mystery, a down-on-his-luck private eye stumbles into a web of intrigue while investigating the disappearance of a Westminster winner. Bill Pronzini, grand master of Mystery Writers of America, says, "Resnick's fast-paced, cleverly plotted, wryly amusing adventures are sure to please both mystery readers and fans of his award-winning science fiction." This November 2012 re-release paves the way for new Eli Paxton mysteries and features a bonus short story plus a new introduction by the author.

The imprint's name pays homage to the trailblazing influence of Edgar Allan Poe. While living in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Poe published "The Murders in the Rue Morgue," considered by many to be the first detective story and an inspiration to later mystery fiction. The Edgar Allan Poe National Historic Site in Philadelphia is located in a preserved home once rented by the author on North Seventh Street.

Blackdog Shortlisted for Sunburst Award
Blackdog
"Blackdog is everything high fantasy should be: a tale of wars among gods, demons and wizards that also works as an oddly compelling social-cultural coming-of-age novel... The characterizations of the young girl and her anguished, shape-shifting protector, as well as other gods, friends, and a demonic enemy, are profound & moving. This is a strongly imagined fantasy world, its peoples rendered with both wit and insight."
        -Shortlisted for the Sunburst Award for Canadian speculative fiction, June 2012

 

Read an interview with author K. V. Johansen at ArtsEast, in which she discusses the difference between writing for children and adults, the inspiration behind Blackdog, and what she's working on now! 

 

Coming Soon
 

"A dark and compelling tale." -Fiona McIntosh, author of The Devoured Earth Myrren's Gift

 

The Devoured Earth, the special ebook-only release of the conclusion to the Books of the Cataclysm quartet! 


In a glacial lake at the top of the world, salvation and destruction await. Haunted by a ghost from the future, Shilly and her man'kin allies are drawn into the snowbound mountains on a mission to save the world. The stakes are high as ancient forces including the strange and alien glast and a dragon with its own agenda struggle for ascendancy.    

 

 

And later this summer... it's dwarves versus dragons as James Enge returns to Morlock Ambrosius in A Guile of Dragons--an origin story for his signature character!  

 

A Guile of Dragons "[E]fficiently excellent epic fantasy... Enge's engaging portrait of Morlock...will have readers hunting down earlier books to learn more about the adventurer and his history."

            -Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Providing a back door into the Arthur/Merlin mythos, Enge creates a fascinating counterpoint to the familiar legends."

            -Library Journal

Before history began, the dwarves of Thrymhaiam fought against the dragons as the Longest War raged in the deep roads beneath the Northhold. Now the dragons have returned. The weight of guarding the Northhold rests on the crooked shoulders of Morlock Ambrosius. But his wounded mind has learned a dark secret: the Longest War can never be over...

 

That's it for this issue. As always, please check out our entire catalog and drop by our blog.

Happy Reading,

Rene Sears
Editorial Assistant, Pyr
®
an imprint of Prometheus Books 
coupon

Save 50%
Crooked Letter

Ships
Free
!
BEST OF THE BACKLIST!!!!                          


For July only, save 50% on Sean William's The Crooked Letter, Book One of the Books of the Cataclysm! 

"Drawing on worldwide myths and legends, Australian author Williams (The Resurrected Man) expertly twists the familiar into the grotesque in this deeply spooky story, the first in a new fantasy series." - Publishers Weekly

"Australian sf and speculative fiction writer Williams...creates unique worlds and captivating visions with his thoughtful and imaginative storytelling. A superb addition to most fantasy collections." -Library Journal  

 

When mirror twins Seth and Hadrian Castillo travel to Europe on holidays, they don't expect the end of the world to follow them. Seth's murder, however, puts exactly that into motion.

From opposite sides of death, the Castillo twins grapple with a reality neither of them suspected, although it has been encoded in myths and legends for millennia. The Earth we know is just one of many "realms", three of which are inhabited by humans during various stages of their lives. And their afterlives...

In the tradition of Philip Pullman and Ursula K. Le Guin and inspired by numerous arcane sources, the Books of the Cataclysm begin in the present world but soon propel the reader to a landscape that is simultaneously familiar and fantastic.

This month, save 50% on The Crooked Letter in our exclusive offer, available only to our newsletter subscribers when you click through the PayPal button below. Free shipping. Or call our toll-free number 1-800-421-0351 and mention the Pyr-a-zine Newsletter Offer when ordering to receive the discounted price. US customers only.

Buy Now

Offer Expires:
July 31, 2012