Header
In This Issue
Pyr Young Adult
Shadow's Lure
Awards
Pyr Around the Web

Find us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

June 1, 2011

Greetings:

We're delighted to announce that Pyr will begin publishing Young Adult books in November.  In the meantime, we've got some wonderful books coming out this summer- like Jon Sprunk's Shadow's Lure.  Let's get started!
Young Adult Books: Coming to Pyr

We are pleased to announce that in
November 2011, Pyr will introduce its first book specifically for the Young Adult (YA) market. Two additional YA titles follow, in December 2011 and February 2012.

 

The first Pyr Young Adult title (in November) will Lightbringerbe Lightbringer, the debut novel from K. D. McEntire. For ages twelve and up, Lightbringer is a YA urban fantasy/paranormal romance set in a world a breath away from our own which tiptoes down the line between love and horror with the tale of a young girl discovering love with a long-dead ghost.

 

In December, one of the most critically acclaimed Pyr authors-the Hugo and Philip K. Dick award-winning Ian McDonald-makes his YA debut with the sci-fi adventure Planesrunner. The first part of the new Everness series for ages twelve and up, Planesrunner stars a fourteen-year-old boy searching for his kidnapped father across the many parallel worlds of the multiverse. Cory Doctorow (Little Brother, For the Win) calls it "smashing adventure fiction that spans the multiverse without ever losing its cool or its sense of style. Ian McDonald is one of the greats of science fiction, and his young adult debut is everything you could hope for: romantic, action packed, wildly imaginative, and full of heart."

 

Thief's CovenantLastly, Ari Marmell's Thief's Covenant (A Widdershins Adventure), for readers twelve and up, will be published in February 2012. It features a young orphan-turned-thief making her way in a dangerous city with help from Olgun, a foreign god who, having lost his followers, has taken up residence in her head.

 

YA titles will be released in hardcover and in ebook formats and will have their own section in the Pyr catalog. YA is expected eventually to account for a third of the Pyr list.



Secrets of the Shadow

Jon Sprunk returns to the world of Shadow's Son with Shadow's Lure.

In Othir, Caim was at the top of the food chain-an assassin beyond Shadow's Lurecompare, a dark shadow in the night. But he left that life behind when he helped an empress claim her throne. And now his past has come calling again.

Searching in the unforgiving Northlands for the truth behind the murder and disappearance of his parents, Caim discovers a land in thrall to the Shadow. Haunted by temptations from the Other Side, he becomes mired in a war he does not want to fight.

But there are some things a son of the Shadow cannot ignore, and some fights from which he can't run. In this battle, all of Caim's strength and skill won't be enough. For none can resist the Shadow's Lure.

"I can say without hesitation that I enjoyed this book more so than the first...There's a showdown a-brewing and I'm rubbing my hands in glee for it." -Night Owl Reviews

Praise for Shadow's Son:

"The intrigue, action scenes, and ever-more-revealing character insights are masterfully woven together in a book the reader won't want to put down.... Overall, a first-rate sword-and-sorcery tale, with intriguing characters, that moves at a fast pace." -Booklist

"Fans of Brent Weeks and Brandon Sanderson will certainly find plenty to like here." -The Mad Hatter's Bookshelf & Book Review 

Stop by Jon Sprunk's website for a chance to win an advance copy of Shadow's Lure.


Awards
Thirteen Years Later

Booklist have announced their Top 10 SF/Fantasy: 2011, and Jasper Kent's Thirteen Years Later has made the list. They write, "Kent has magically blended history, folklore, and storytelling to produce a superb account of the Dekabrist revolt in 1825 Russia."


The Ragged ManCongratulations to the finalists for the 2011 Chelsey Awards! Lou Anders has been nominated for best Art Director. For best paperback cover, both
Todd Lockwood, for The Ragged Man by Tom Lloyd, and Stephan Martiniere, for Ares Express by IanAres Express McDonald, received nominations.

 

Pyr around the Web
 The Falling Machine
Editorial Director Lou Anders joins the podcast Giant Fire Breathing Robot for episode 80 to discuss writing and editing. Take a listen!


Andrew Mayer (The Falling Machine) discusses video games and more at My Bookish Ways, where there's also a giveaway of the book.     


That's it for this issue. Don't forget our coupon below! As always, please check out our entire catalog and drop by our blog.

Happy Reading,

Rene Sears
Editorial Assistant, Pyr

an imprint of Prometheus Books


Save
50%
ShadowsSon

BEST OF THE BACKLIST!!!    

 

    

  

If you missed Caim's first adventure, now is a great time to catch up! For June only, we're offering Jon Sprunk's Shadow's Son half off. Shipping is free! 

 

Caim makes his living on the edge of a blade, but when a routine job goes south, he is thrust into the middle of an insidious plot. Pitted against crooked lawmen, rival killers, and sorcery from the Other Side, his only allies are Josephine, the socialite daughter of his last victim, and Kit, a guardian spirit no one else can see. To unmask a conspiracy at the heart of the empire, he must claim his birthright as the Shadow's Son....

 

This month, save 50% on Shadow's Son in our exclusive offer, available only to our newsletter subscribers when you click through the PayPal button below. Free shipping. Or call our toll-free number 1-800-421-0351 and mention the Pyr-a-zine Newsletter Offer when ordering to receive the discounted price.    

 

 

 

Buy Now 

   
Offer Expires:
June 30, 2011