April 11, 2011


No-Fault Reform Hearing

Contact Your State Senator

Support Senate File 389 


On Tuesday, the Senate Commerce Committee will be hearing a major no-fault insurance reform bill. The bill is Senate File 389, the Reduce Auto Medical Fraud Act of 2011, sponsored by the Insurance Federation of Minnesota. The bill attempts to address the skyrocketing costs of Minnesota's no-fault medical system due to the inability to contain health provider costs. In Minnesota, health care providers get paid whatever they charge without any of the cost-containment or managed care provided under health insurance or workers' compensation insurance. Many providers, primarily chiropractors, have been abusing our PIP system. Many Minnesotans are paying for unnecessary and excessive treatment which increases everyone s insurance premiums.

Senate File 389 would stop skyrocketing costs by bringing health care provider treatments and reimbursements under the same restrictions that apply to our workers' compensation system. This means that chiropractors will not be able to charge whatever they like and would have to live with a fee schedule established by the state.

Senate File 389 also addresses the aggressive advertisements from medical providers that seek to exploit the no-fault system. The bill would restrict the activities of "runners" "capers" and "steerers" who attempt to attract injured parties on the behalf of unscrupulous medical providers.

If your State Senator, as list below, is a member of the Senate Commerce Committee, please contact them by phone or email. Encourage them to VOTE YES ON SENATE FILE 389, authored by State Senator Paul Gazelka. Thank you
Sen. Chris Gerlach (R-Apple Valley), Chair
651-296-4120 -   sen.chris.grelach@senate.mn

Sen. Paul Gazelka (R-Brainerd), (Insurance Agent)
651-296-4875 -  sen.paul.gazelka@senate.mn
Sen. Linda Scheid (DFL-Brooklyn Park)
651-296-8869 -  sen.linda.scheid@senate.mn

Sen. Terri Bonoff (DFL-Minnetonka)
651-296-4314 - sen.terri.bonoff@senate.mn

Sen. David Brown (R-Becker) (Insurance Agent)
651-296-8075 -  sen.david.brown@senate.mn
Sen. Roger Chamberlain (R-Lino Lakes)
651-296-1253 -  sen.roger.chamberlain@senate.mn
Sen. Gary Dahms (R-Redwood Falls) (Insurance Agent),
651-296-8136 -  sen.gary.dahms@senate.mn
Sen. Michael Jungbauer (R-East Bethel),
651-296-3733 -  sen.mike.jungbauer@senate.mn

Sen. Benjamin Kruse (R-Brooklyn Park),
651-296-4154 -  sen.benjamin.kruse@senate.mn

Sen. Sandy Pappas (DFL-St. Paul),
651-296-1802 - sen.sandy.pappas@senate.mn

Sen. Roger Reinert (DFL-Duluth),
651-296-4188 - sen.roger.reinert@senate.mn

Sen. Ann Rest (DFL- New Hope),
651-296-2899 - sen.ann.rest@senate.mn

Sen. Dan Sparks (DFL-Austin),
651-296-9248 - sen.dan.sparks@senate.mn

Sen. Dave Thompson (R-Lakeville),
651-296-5252 - sen.dave.thompson@senate.mn

Sen. Ray Vandeveer (R-Forest Lake),
651-296-4351 - sen.ray.vandeveer@senate.mn

Quick Links
Email Dominic Sposeto
MN Dept of Commerce

7500 Flying Cloud Dr
Suite 900
Eden Prairie, MN 55344

P: 800.864.3846
F:  952.835.4774