Christopher Street West


Press Release

May 10, 2011

323-969-8302, x19








2011 Slate of Honorees Announced

For 41 years, members of the LGBT community and their families, friends and allies have gathered for the annual LA PRIDE Celebration, produced by Christopher Street West.  For 2011, this month-long commemoration will feature the inaugural proclamation of LGBT Heritage Month by Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa, the historic WeHo Dyke March, the iconic three day festival and one of the largest LGBT pride parades in the world.      


Each year, Christopher Street West recognizes people and groups that have especially impacted the LGBT community.  With a demonstrated commitment to greater visibility and understanding, advocacy, human rights, empowerment, marriage equality and service, Christopher Street West is very excited to present the 2011 slate of LA PRIDE Honorees:


Margaret Cho

Morris Kight Lifetime Achievement Award

Comedian, actress, activist and humanitarian


Andy Cohen

Person of the Year Award

Bravo's Executive Vice President of Programming and Development / Host of "Watch What Happens: Live"


Dr. Isabel Gomez-Bassols

George Moscone Award

The nation's leading Hispanic radio psychologist reaching 80% of Latino households around the country   


Suzy Jack

Harvey Milk Award

Progressive activist working to make local government, elected leaders and law enforcement more accessible, responsible and collaborative with the LGBTQ community


Asian Pacific Islander Equality - Los Angeles

Connie Norman Award

Working tirelessly to build bridges within ethnic communities to garner support for marriage equality


Youth of Gay Straight Alliance Network

Outstanding Youth Award

Creating safer environments for all students by addressing homophobia and transphobia in schools


Frontiers Magazine

Torie Osborn / Dick Michaels Media Award

For 29 years, a leading resource for the greater LGBT community


Glenne McElhinney

Pat Parker Arts Award

Helping to remember, record and re-tell the history of California's LGBT community


Valerie Spencer

Berman Schaffer Award

Renowned transgender advocate and educator focused on social service delivery


Eagle LA

Sheldon Andelson Award

Popular leather bar consistently supporting causes near and dear to the hearts of the LGBT community


Sergeant James Farrell

CSW Special Community Award

A veteran member of the West Hollywood Sheriff's station and law enforcement leader



For full information about all 2011 LA PRIDE events, honorees, sponsors and Christopher Street West, please visit




A non-profit organization, Christopher Street West is a leading partner in the advancement of rights and equality in the LGBT community.  Led by professionally-driven, volunteer-based Board Members, Christopher Street West produces one of the largest PRIDE celebrations in the United States with an ever-expanding global presence reaching millions of people annually. 


PRIDE 365:  Power.  Passion.  Purpose. 


  (323) 969-8302 Phone  (323) 969-0761 Fax