November, 2011 

Probes & Tips header

We're All Ears!
Kids Ear Games 1
What topics would you like to see covered in future Probes and Tips Newsletters or Webinars?



Look for us!   

Kids - Look us Up 

Upcoming Webinars:


"Spread the Word" Mini-Webinar


December 1, 2011

10:00 a.m. Pacific

11:00 a.m. Mountain

12:00 p.m. Central

1:00 p.m. Eastern


Register Here 



"Learn More Hear and Now: Introduction to OAE Screening"


January 13, 2012

10:00 a.m. Pacific 

11:00 a.m. Mountain

12:00 p.m. Central

1:00 p.m. Eastern 


 Register Here


 - - - - - - - - -   


ECHO Initiative Exhibits:


We will have an exhibit at the 2011 American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Annual Convention

San Diego, CA

November 17-19, 2011


Quick Links 


Find more helpful hints from previous issues of


Probes and Tips 


and many other resources at 



Join Our Mailing List  



2615 Old Main Hill, Logan, Utah 84322

Tip of the Month

Blow Your Own Horn and Spread the Word! 


By implementing otoacoustic emissions (OAE) hearing screening, you have added significantly to the quality of services provided to infants and toddlers in your program.  Most children in the U.S. do not yet have an opportunity to receive this valuable screening during their preschool years. We want to hBlow Your Own Hornelp you to "blow your own horn" so that you draw positive and appropriate attention to the important services you are providing to children, while simultaneously informing others about best practices in early childhood hearing screening.    


Our new  "Spread the Word" tools, available at, will allow you to send an e-mail blast to individuals you want to tell about your hearing screening program, generate media attention, or get a spot on a meeting or conference agenda. They are designed to help you "lead by example" and inspire other early childhood and health care professionals to adopt OAE screening practices. By taking advantage of these tools, the investment you have made in implementing quality hearing screening practices can have a far-reaching influence beyond the children and families you serve directly.   


To initiate your own "Spread the Word" campaign, use this simple e-mail link to quickly provide basic information to colleagues about your OAE screening practice.  


On Thursday, December 1st, we are offering a 'Mini-Webinar' on this topic, and encourage you to attend.  Click here to register, or see specific information in the 'Look for Us' box on the left.  In addition, look for next "Spread the Word" steps in upcoming newsletters! 


Probe of the Month

What colleagues and contacts do you feel will benefit from the information contained in the "Spread the Word" e-mail blast?  Please let us know at:        


As always, share with anyone you think would benefit from our resources.     


ECHO - Headstart 

Probes and Tips is a newsletter from the ECHO Initiative that provides monthly TIPS

to enhance early childhood hearing screening and follow-up practices and PROBES

 about current activities so we can learn from one another's successes and challenges.