Greetings from Bloomington

Buxbaum_Alt The fall semester is well under way! On August 21, we welcomed 200 new JD students to campus. Here are some interesting facts about the Class of 2015: 39% are from Indiana; 19% are members of minority groups; 48% are women. 

The students come from 112 different undergraduate institutions; 84 students have worked or studied for at least two years since receiving their undergraduate degree.  Among them, they speak 23 different foreign languages, including Farsi, Gujarati and Twi.  The class includes a published poet, a national champion in synchronized swimming, a riverboat captain, a grandmother of five and a trapeze artist. The median LSAT and GPA of these students is 164 and 3.80, respectively.

Lauren Robel assumed the role of Executive Vice President and Provost of the Bloomington campus at the end of June.  We miss her here at the law school, but she has, as you would expect, already established herself as a dedicated and effective provost.  On August 24 a search committee for a new dean began its work.  In the meantime, I am honored to continue serving as Interim Dean. 

I am pleased to report that gifts to the Fund for Excellence, our annual fund, exceeded $1 million this year. I thank you for your generous support of Indiana Law and hope to see you on campus this fall.

Hannah L. Buxbaum
Interim Dean and John E. Schiller Chair in Legal Ethics 

Register for fall IP CLE events

Indiana Law's Center for Intellectual Property Research is planning two CLE courses on the Bloomington campus this fall. CIPR logo

On September 14, the Center presents "The America Invents Act: One Year Later," with keynote speakers Robert Armitage, General Counsel to Eli Lilly and Company, and David Kappos, Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

"The State of Patent Litigation: A Conversation with the Federal Circuit" is planned for September 24. Keynote speaker is Hon. Randall Rader, Chief Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Federal Circuit.
Kappos, Armitage, and Rader

Indiana continuing legal education credit has been applied for. To register, and for more details, visit the Center's website.

Annual fund tops $1 million

The Fund for Excellence, Indiana Law's annual fund, topped $1 Give now 12 million for the year ended June 30, 2012, an increase of 9% over last year.

"Gifts to the Fund for Excellence are especially important because they provide unrestricted funds for scholarships and student activities throughout the year," said Dean Buxbaum. Total gifts of $1,050,124 came from 1,577 individuals, corporations, and foundations.

The 2013 Fund for Excellence campaign is already under way. To make your gift to this year's fund, just click on the "Give Now" button.

Distinguished Service Award winners named

Three Indiana Law alumni will be honored at a luncheon in Bloomington on September 21 for their record of distinguished service to their communities. This year's honorees are:

Coyne_Lynn Lynn H. Coyne, JD'72. Assistant Vice President for Real Estate at Indiana University in Bloomington, Lynn Coyne is widely respected for his broad vision and behind-the-scenes commitment to the legal profession and local community, including serving on the boards of the Indiana Continuing Legal Education Forum, Indiana University Health Bloomington Hospital, and Bloomington Economic Development Corporation.

Mark E. Holcomb, JD'87.  As a partner at Morton Holcomb McGoldrick, P.S., in Tacoma, Wash., Mark Holcomb has contributed an estimated 500 hours yearly to organizations that serve the well-being of families and children, including establishing three HOPE centers for the Boys and Girls Clubs of South Puget Sound.

Scott_Z_HS Zaldwaynaka (Z) Scott, JD'83. A partner at Kay Scholer LLP in Chicago, Z Scott has donated countless hours to civic and community service, including chairing the Chicago Housing Authority and Chicago Area Project and founding the first summit of black women lawyers in Chicago.  

To read more about these distinguished alumni and the DSA program, visit Indiana Law's alumni website.  For more information about the September 21 luncheon, contact Andrea Havill, assistant dean for alumni relations, at       


Pyle named to Indiana Court of Appeals
On August 7, 2012, Governor Mitch Daniels appointed  Rudolph R. Pyle III, JD'00, to the Indiana Court of Appeals. Pyle succeeds his mentor, Hon. Carr Darden, having served as Darden's clerk from 2000-2004.

Pyle was previously a deputy prosecutor in Madison County (Ind.) and was appointed judge in Madison Circuit Court in 2009. He told the Indiana Lawyer that it was an "awesome honor" to be chosen. "It's not every day you are able to walk in the steps of your mentor," he added.     


Stay in touch with Indiana Law!

Like us on FacebookView our profile on LinkedInFollow us on TwitterView our videos on YouTube
Rock 'n' Roll...
Not only is Federal Circuit Chief Judge Randall Rader a distinguished jurist (see below); he is also a singer in a rock 'n' roll band. Plan to join him and the other members of DeNovo for a special concert at 7 p.m., Sunday, Sept. 23 at Max's Place, 108 W. 6th, Bloomington.

Backing up the judge: Adjunct IP Professor Robert Meitus, JD'00; Sean O'Connor, Steve Mascari, Brian Kearney from the development office, and Indiana Law Professor and former Dean Alfred C. Aman, Jr.
Alumni invited to judge Moot Court
Indiana Law alumni are invited to judge the fall rounds of the Sherman Minton Moot Court Competition from October 5 to November 3.

For a complete calendar of arguments, and to register as a judge, visit the Moot Court's website.

The competition is sponsored by Bose McKinney & Evans LLP.

ALAF nominations sought
Established in 1985, the Academy of Law Alumni Fellows recognizes alumni who have distinguished themselves in their careers through personal achievements and dedication to the highest standards of the profession. Induction into the Academy is the highest honor the Maurer School of Law bestows upon its graduates.

Nominations for this prestigious award are open until Friday, November 16. Visit our website for details and a nomination form.

See you at the ISBA
annual meeting! 
Join us for an alumni reception in conjunction with the Indiana State Bar Association annual meeting. Even if you are not attending the meeting, if you live or work in the area, please plan to join us. Hors d'oeuvres and drinks will be provided.

Thursday, October 25, 2012
5:30 - 6:30 pm
JW Marriott
Room 309
10 S. West Street

RSVP by October 18th at or 812-855-9700.