2012 Jackman race header  
Dear friends and supporters,

This past weekend, almost 300 people from Long Island and beyond signed up to join us for the 7th Annual Brooke Jackman Foundation Race for Literacy.  

Families began gathering at Theodore Roosevelt Elementary School shortly after 9 am on Saturday to partake in the crafts and games offered for children.  For these young ones that are still on their way to running a 5K, a Mile Fun Run for Future Olympians tested the speed and endurance.

As we kicked off the main event, the sun was on our side as it warmed the air and the spirits of the runners and walkers who took on the challenge of the 3.1-mile course along the scenic roads of Oyster Bay, Mill Neck and Upper Brookville.  Jonathan Wetzel from Nikayuna, NY, took home first place for the men with an impressive time of 16:30 minutes, while Alexis Kushner took the top spot for the women with a time of 22:22 minutes.  The full list of race results can be found here.

With all of your help, this year's Race for Literacy was the biggest and best yet!  The Race for Literacy provides such an excellent platform to raise awareness for children's literacy and ensure that New York-area children receive the education assistance that they need.

A huge round of applause goes to our top fundraisers for the race: Hanna Tepper and family; Gillian Tepper; Lauren Caspi; Gracie Lafaire; Jack Salomon; and Iris Jackman.

In addition to each of the participants of this year's Race for Literacy, we'd like to give a special thank you to the following sponsors that helped make the Race for Literacy possible:

AcuPort Acupuncture
Air Stream Foods
All About Kids
Allstate - Jeannine Izzo Agency
Bagel Boss Cafe of East Norwich
Bi County Mailing
Blake and Elle
Bonanza Ices
The Borgia Family
Charlotte Rogato
Creative Composition
The Delahanty Family
Evo Sport
The Friedman Family
Gooseberry Grove Ice Cream
Hanna Tepper and Family
The Heinemann Family
The Herrey Family
The Heumann Family
The Luneburg Family
Michael L Friedman
The Old Brookville PBA
Party with ESP
Pumpkin Pie Foundation
Richard Dimino
RSM McGladrey
The Shemano Group
The Steinberg Family

Thank you also to our amazing race committee, without whom this race wouldn't have been possible: Michael DelColle, Stephen Gourley, Erin Murcott, Andrea Peck, Jennifer Iles, Rosemarie Licameli, Lynn Keating and Mario Baldino.  Their help, along with the support of all of our hardworking volunteers, ensured that the race was a complete success!

Our announcer, Terry Bisogno, did an outstanding job as the man on the microphone!

Last, but definitely not least, thank you to Senator Marcellino, Kathy Wilson and The Oyster Bay Chamber of Commerce.

Let us know what you thought of the race!  Leave us a comment on Facebook or Tweet to us at @JackmanLiteracy!

With great appreciation,

Erin Jackman

Join Our Mailing List Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
You are receiving this email because you have opted in to the Brooke Jackman Foundation list or one of our third-party partners. You may safely unsubscribe below if you do not wish to receive communications from the Brooke Jackman Foundation.