Update from the Gary S. Holmes
Center of Entrepreneurship

May 2010
HCE LogoGreetings!

The mantra of the Holmes Center for Entrepreneurship is to inspire and educate the next generation of entrepreneurs.  We encourage you to get involved and join the 250+ members of the Twin Cities' entrepreneurial business community participating in our classes, clubs and outreach programs.  We hope you enjoy the brief updates below on our researchers students, alumni and programs. 
MN Cup Logo MN Cup - May 21 Deadline Approaching

Entries for the 2010 Minnesota Cup need to be received by midnight on Friday May 21st.  Take advantage of this opportunity to submit your breakthrough business idea and receive the resources and guidance to launch your business.  Enter Now!

Join us at May 18th MN Cup event with Dileep Rao on business planning and raising capital.

Click below to see recent news coverage of student division winners from 2008 and 2009.

            Zipnosis - WCCO                    ManCave - Business Journal
YavuzYavuz Receives Kauffman Fellowship

Isil Yavuz, Carlson PhD candidate, was recently awarded the Kauffman Dissertation Fellowship for her dissertation titled "The 'Outsider' Entrepreneurs: The Role of Founders' Immigrant Status in the Internationalization of New Ventures in High Technology Industries."  The annual competition awards grants of $20,000 each to support dissertations in the area of entrepreneurship.

"In my dissertation I examine whether and how early internationalization of high technology new ventures is affected by their founders' immigrant status, and the mediating role of new venture resource configurations and sources of financing  in this relationship," says Yavuz. "I also examine the outcome of new ventures' early internationalization for firm survival for both immigrant and non-immigrant founded new ventures."

Yavuz also received the McNamara Fellowship in 2010.
Bhawe Bhawe Receives Grad School Fellowship

Nachiket Bhawe, Carlson PhD candidate with an emphasis in entrepreneurship research has received a Graduate School dissertation fellowship for the 2010/11 academic year.  In addition to developing a class on technology commercialization, he has done research on the sequence of accumulating resources, market entry timing and global social entrepreneurship.  Bhawe was also selected as a Kauffman Dissertation Fellow in 2009.  His dissertation is entitled, Horse before the Cart: Does the Sequence in which Entrepreneurs Choose Resource Partners Matter? Evidence from the Bio-pharmaceutical Industry.
Severson Entrepreneurial Alumni Featured in Carlson Magazine

Recent alumni are extending their experiential learnings from the Carlson School into a wide range of entrepreneurial ventures.  See full story and related videos.
EIA Board State Farm and Alumni Board Assist Student Entrepreneurs

Through the sponsorship of State Farm Insurance and  the support of their alumni advisory board, this year's Entrepreneurship in Action class launched two startup businesses during 2010.  Pictured with their odor- absorbing "smart" duffel bags are Bruce Thomson, Craig Levinsohn, Libby Forbes Utter, Mark Paper, Joe Schierl, Joan Roissum and Missy Youmans.  See product video.
Culver Wraps up Inspiring Year for Entre Club

CulverWhat if you opened a new restaurant and nobody showed up?  Craig Culver shared free butter burgers and his lessons from struggling  to find the right formula before expanding to 400+ restaurants across 17 states. 

Craig's talk punctuated an inspiring year of   more than 30 guest speakers to the club, including Mark Cuban, Robert Stephens, Kieran Folliard, Bahram Akradi and Chris Eilers. 

At their annual CEO Dinner in April, the club selected Chris Eilers, CEO of Dunn Bros Coffee, as their Speaker of the Year.
BizPitch Winners Track Down $500

         2010 BizPitch Winners & Judges
Undergraduate entrepreneurship students Anna DeeBower and Mike Wesely won the grand prize at the     5th annual BizPitch contest.  Their idea for an RFID-tracking device to be  affixed to hunting arrows would  reduce time spent searching for lost arrows and injured deer. 

Judges Ann Ulrich, Jesse Bergland, Caryl Abdo, Roy Wetterstrom and   Scott Litman provided advice to the 8 finalist presenters following their 90-second elevator pitches.  This annual competition encourages students to step forward with new business ideas that enable them to apply their entrepreneurship education.
Get Involved
Fast Facts 2010

4th Largest Major
10 MBA Courses
9 Undergraduate Courses
1,331 Enrollment
18 Interns
27 Mentors
18 Entrepreneurs in Residence
10 Businesses Formed
95 Student Entrepreneurs Advised
13 Articles Published
29 Papers Presented
5 Research Awards
2008, 2009
Honorable Mention in Princeton Review Rankings
Holmes Center Advisory Board

Robert Buuck
Judy Corson
Gary Holmes
Tim Kraskey
Joy Lindsay
Dan Mallin
Dileep Rao
Prof. Harry Sapienza
Prof. Myles Shaver
Lloyd Sigel
John Stavig
Roy Wetterstrom
Prof. Shaker Zahra
Thank You
Holmes Center Benefactors

Floyd  Adelman
Anonymous Alumnus
Selemon Asfaw
Tom Auth
Jesse Bergland
Norman Bjornnes
Robert Buuck
Buuck Foundation
Laura Carter
Judy Corson
Deluxe Corp. Foundation
Tim & Val Doherty
Geoff Dutton
John Fesler
David Frauenshuh
Harold Goldfine
Heath Foundation
Merle Hilliard
Gary Holmes
Pat Hopf
Hubbard Foundation
Ann & Robert Jackson
Anna & Eugene Karpas
Steve Klick
Tim Kraskey
Joy Lindsay
Gerald Magnuson
Chris Mayr
Spence Morley
Mark Paper
Gary Rappaport
Richard Foundation
Dave Ring
Harold Roitenberg
Mike Sill
Robert Simon
State Farm Insurance
John Stavig
Roy Wetterstrom
Jeffrey Wirth
Thank You
MN Cup Mentors

Clark Becker
Robert Befidi, Jr.
John Bergstrom
Dodd Clasen
Nicholas Clementi
Judy Corson
Tony Crisman
Dan Grigsby
Linda Hall Keller
Anne Kelly
Franz Hofmeister
Ken Holec
Aaron Keller
Don Keysser
Tim Kraskey
Ruth Lane
Spence Morley
Mark Price
Prakash Puram
Ron Reimann
Dave Ring
Jeffrey Robinson
Brett Shockley
Scott Sustacek
Rajiv Tandon
Jim Thomas
Mike Tierney
Roy Wetterstrom
Upcoming Entrepreneurship Events @ Carlson

Minnesota Cup - Raising Startup Capital with Dileep Rao - May 18th @ 4:30 PM
Minnesota Cup Entry Deadline - May 21st @ midnight
Junior Entrepreneurs of Minnesota Final Awards Dinner - July 15th @ 5:30 PM
Minnesota Cup Final Awards Reception - September 13th @ 5:30 PM (McNamara Center)

Contact Information

John Stavig
Professional Director