Program Journal
CLICK HERE to view the 2009 PRISM Awards Winners!
2009 Annual PRISM Awards WINNERS
2009 PRISM Talent Photos
Pictured Above:
Performance in a Feature Film, Anne Hathaway, Rachel Getting Married; Performance in a Drama Multi-Episode Storyline, Benjamin Bratt, The Cleaner; Performance in a Comedy Series, Dana Delany, Desperate Housewives; Performance in a TV Movie or Miniseries, Chandra Wilson, Accidental Friendship; Talk Show Episode, Dr. Phil, The Bridge  

 William Shatner_Boston Legal
Performance in a Drama Episode:
William Shatner, Boston Legal
ABC Entertainment/20th Century Fox Television/David E. Kelley Productions 

Robert DeBitetto 09


A&E logo

Rachel Getting Married, Stop-Loss, The Office, Law and Order: SVU, Breaking Bad Also Receive PRISM Nods
A & E President Robert DeBitetto Receives Larry Stewart Award
LOS ANGELES, April 23, 2009 - Anne Hathaway, William Shatner, Benjamin Bratt, Chandra Wilson and Dana Delany received PRISM Awards for individual performances in film and television at the 2009 PRISM Awards ceremony which was held today at the Beverly Hills Hotel.
The PRISM Awards, which are produced by the Entertainment Industries Council, Inc. (EIC) in collaboration with the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) and FX, honor actors, movies, music, media and television's top shows that accurately depict and bring attention to substance abuse and mental health issues. The Acting Surgeon General, Rear Admiral Steven K. Galson, participated in the ceremony, along with numerous celebrity performers.
"In these difficult economic times, when many of us know someone in our lives touched by these issues, the stories we honor with PRISM Awards have shown great sensitivity towards those who are experiencing addiction, substance abuse, and other mental health problems." said EIC President and CEO Brian Dyak.
Anne Hathaway was recognized in the Performance in a Feature Film category for Sony Pictures' Classic "Rachel Getting Married." The film also received an award for Feature Film. William Shatner received the award for Performance in a Drama Episode in ABC's "Boston Legal"; Benjamin Bratt for Best Performance in a Drama Multi-Episode Storyline for A & E's "The Cleaner"; Chandra Wilson for Performance in a TV Movie or Miniseries in Hallmark Channel's "Accidental Friendship";  and Dana Delany for Performance in a Comedy Series for ABC's "Desperate Housewives."
"It's been such an honor to participate in this year's PRISM Awards with a group of people who have helped send a strong and clear message," said Steven K. Galson, M.D., M.P.H., RADM, USPHS, Acting Assistant Secretary for Health, Acting Surgeon General. "The entertainment industry can continue to help people understand that addiction and mental illness are an illness and that treatment is available, recovery is possible, and that friends and family play an important role in that process."
Television shows that received awards for accurate portrayals of related issues included "Boston Legal," "Breaking Bad," "King of the Hill," "Law and Order: Special Victims Unit," "The Office," CBS's miniseries, "Sybil" and CBS Paramount Domestic Television's "Dr. Phil."  In the Unscripted Non-Fiction category, the A&E series "Intervention" earned a PRISM for the fourth consecutive year. Only "ER" and "The E! True Hollywood Story" have received more PRISMs to date.

A&E President and General Manager Robert DeBitetto received the Larry Stewart Leadership & Inspiration Award for his addiction and treatment related programming initiatives. The award, which is presented for leadership and inspiration by example, is named in memory of veteran writer/producer/director Larry Stewart, a founding Board Director of EIC. 
Additional celebrities involved in the ceremony included Ashley Argota (True Jackson, VP), Paul Ben-Victor (In Plain Sight), Corbin Bernsen (Psych), Andrea Bowen (Desperate Housewives), Jayne Brook (Boston Legal/Brothers and Sisters), Sharon Case (The Young & The Restless), Christian Clemenson (Boston Legal), Bryan Cranston (Breaking Bad), James Denton (Desperate Housewives), Hector Elizondo (Monk), Cassidy Freeman (Smallville), Joanna Garcia (Privileged), Jay Harrington (Better Off Ted), Mariette Hartley, Stana Katic (Castle), John Larroquette (Boston Legal), Sharon Lawrence (Privileged/Monk), Michele Lee, Jennette McCurdy (iCarly), Sarah Jane Morris (Brothers and Sisters), Chuck Negron (Three Dog Night), Dr. Phil McGraw (Dr. Phil), Dr. Drew Pinsky  (Celebrity Rehab), Navi Rawat (Numbers), Melissa Rivers (Celebrity Apprentice), Stephen Root (King of the Hill), John Salley (Best Damn Sports Show Ever), Henry Simmons (Shark), Shadoe Stevens (The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson), Kate Vernon (Battlestar Galactica),  Dee Wallace (My Name is Earl/Sons & Daughters), Rolonda Watts (Days of Our Lives/Radio Host), and Gary Anthony Williams (Boston Legal).  
Honorees for the PRISM Awards are selected by an 80-person committee of entertainment industry professionals and technical experts from the fields of medicine, mental health, and addiction.  
About Entertainment Industries Council:
EIC, a non-profit organization, was founded in 1983 by leaders of the entertainment industry to bring the power of the industry to bear on health and social issues. The organization is considered to be the grand daddy and chief pioneer of entertainment advocacy outreach and one of the premiere success stories in the field of entertainment education and information resources for entertainment creators, through innovative and time-proven services and methods of "encouraging the art of making a difference" from within the entertainment industry.
EIC addresses health issues such as drug, alcohol, and tobacco use and addiction; firearm safety and injury prevention; sun safety and skin cancer prevention; human trafficking; terrorism and homeland security; mental health and mental illness, including bipolar disorder, depression and suicide; diabetes; seat belt use and traffic safety; and HIV/AIDS prevention. For more information, please visit
SAMHSA is a public health agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The agency is responsible for improving the accountability, capacity and effectiveness of the nation's substance abuse prevention, addiction treatment, and mental health services delivery systems.
About FX Network:
FX is the flagship general entertainment basic cable network from Fox. Launched in June of 1994, FX is carried in more than 94 million homes. The diverse schedule includes an award-winning roster of distinctive original series, an established film library with box-office hits from 20th Century Fox and other major studios and an impressive roster of acquired hit series.
#  #  #
For more information on the 2009 PRISM Awards...
PRISM Trophy 
Call 818-333-5001
 For a full
list of this
year's WINNERS!

 The PRISM Awards are produced by the

         FX No box logo   &   SAMHSA Logo

EIC Banner