Management Update
Volume 1, Issue 9
October 2012

Briefing October 11, Baton Rouge

Update on Labor and Employment Law

 

Breazeale, Sachse & Wilson, L.L.P.  presents Update on Labor and Employment Law, a half-day labor and employment law seminar.

 

Date

Thursday, October 11, 2012

Registration begins at 8:00 AM

8:30 AM to 12:00 PM CDT

 

Location

Crowne Plaza Baton Rouge

4728 Constitution Avenue

Bayou Room

Baton Rouge, LA 70808

 

Cost

$20.00 for LCA and LCIA members

$30.00 for non-members

   

Agenda

8:00-8:30-Registration 

8:30-8:45-Introduction

8:45-9:30-Defeating Meritless Unemployment Compensation Claims

9:30-10:15-Strengthening your Personnel Policies against Workplace Discrimination  

Charges

10:15-10:30-Break 

10:30-11:15-Legally Avoiding Union Organizing

11:15-12:00-Staying Out of Trouble with the Wage & Hour Law

12:00-Question & Answer

  

The use of this seal is not an endorsement by the HR Certification Institute of the quality of the program. It means that this program has met the HR Certification Institute's criteria to be pre-approved for recertification credit.     


Hurricane Resources
Following our most recent hurricane, the attorneys at Breazeale, Sachse & Wilson have gathered helpful information for all of our clients. Please visit our Hurricane Resource Center.

EEOC Recognizes Title VII Cause of Action For Transgender Individuals
In a recent unanimous decision, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) took the dramatic step of extending the protections of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 to transgender individuals on the basis of their "transgender" status. In doing so, the EEOC adopted the position that Title VII's prohibition of discrimination based on "sex" also prohibits discrimination based on "gender identity," effectively adding another protected class under Federal discrimination laws.

To read the full alert visit  here.

IRS Notices on ACA
In late August, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) issued two notices with guidance on the The Affordable Care Act (ACA).

Notice 2012-59 addressed the 90-day waiting period, to begin on or after January 1, 2014.

Notice 2012-58 addresses how to count full-time employees under the penalty provision, Section 4980H. Large employers, 50 or more full-time employees or equivalents in the previous year, have two potential liabilities. Under the ACA, full-time employees are defined as working an average of 30 or more hours per week. Penalties are incurred if they do not offer health benefits, or if the benefits they provide are not "affordable" and do not meet minimum requirements. The guidance permits employers to restructure their workforce in preparation. This notice is particularly burdensome for employers with a complicated workforce structure.

Breazeale, Sachse & Wilson, L.L.P. Labor and Employment Attorneys

 

John T. Andrishok

john.andrishok@bswllp.com 

225.381.8020

Murphy J. Foster, III

murphy.foster@bswllp.com 

225.381.8015

Leo C. Hamilton

leo.hamilton@bswllp.com 

225.381.8056

Joseph R. Hugg

 joseph.hugg@bswllp.com 

504.584.5466

Rachael Jeanfreau

rachael.jeanfreau@bswllp.com 

504.584.5467

Steven B. Loeb

steven.loeb@bswllp.com 

225.381.8050

Eve B. Masinter

eve.masinter@bswllp.com 

504.584.5468

Yvonne R. Olinde

yvonne.olinde@bswllp.com 

225.381.8026

E. Fredrick Preis, Jr.

fred.preis@bswllp.com 

504.584.5470

Melissa M. Shirley

melissa.shirley@bswllp.com 

225.381.3173

Jennifer D. Sims

jennifer.sims@bswllp.com 

225.381.8048

Jerry L. Stovall

jerry.stovall@bswllp.com 

225.381.8042

 

 
This electronic newsletter is provided to clients and friends of Breazeale, Sachse & Wilson, L.L.P. The information described is general in nature, and may not apply to your specific situation. Legal advice should be sought before taking action based on the information discussed. Applicable State Bar or Attorney Regulations May Require This Be Labeled as "Advertising."Anchor1