WE ACT for Environmental Justice
Peggy Shepard 
Executive Director
Peggy M. Shepard
Online Registration Now Open
 for WE ACT's 20th Anniversary National Climate Justice Conference
Girl with globe
Make an online contribution to WE ACT and become a part of the movement to bring environmental health and protection to communities everywhere. It's fast and easy when you click here.
Join Our Mailing List
Greetings from Harlem!
WE ACT for Environmental Justice is pleased to announce that the National Academies has selected our Executive Director Peggy M. Shepard to be a member of the Committee on America's Climate Choices. The Committee will be responsible for providing overall direction, coordination, and integration of the America's Climate Choices suite of activities. The committee will also organize the Summit on America's Climate Choices, facilitate coordination and collaboration among the study panels, convene additional workshops or joint meetings as needed, and write a final report that integrates the panel reports and answers the final four key questions to be addressed by the study:
  1. What short-term actions can be taken to respond effectively to climate change?
  2. What promising long-term strategies, investments, and opportunities could be pursued to respond to climate change?
  3. What are the major scientific and technological advances needed to better understand and respond effectively to climate change?
  4. What are the major impediments to responding effectively to climate change, and what can be done to overcome these impediments?
Following is a complete list of Committee members (click here for member bios):
Albert Carnesale (Chair), University of California, Los Angeles
William L. Chameides (Vice Chair), Duke University
Donald F. Boesch, University of Maryland, Cambridge
Marilyn A. Brown, Georgia Institute of Technology
Jonathan Cannon, University of Virginia
G. Wayne Clough, Smithsonian Institution
Thomas Dietz, Michigan State University
Robert W. Fri, Resources for the Future
James E. Geringer, Environmental Systems Research Institute
Katharine L. Jacobs, Arizona Water Institute
Thomas R. Karl, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Diana M. Liverman, University of Oxford
Pamela A. Matson, Stanford University
Peter H. Raven, Missouri Botanical Garden
Richard L. Schmalensee, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Philip R. Sharp, Resources for the Future
Peggy M. Shepard, WE ACT for Environmental Justice
Robert H. Socolow, Princeton University
Susan Solomon, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Bjorn Stigson, World Business Council for Sustainable Development
Thomas J. Wilbanks, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
We look forward to sharing with you the results of the Committee's work as they are released.
Team WE ACT Signature