National Coalition of Estheticians, Manufacturers/Distributors & Associations




In cooperation with the Professional Beauty Association -
please take action on the following:


HB 1006  - A bill for an act to amend the Indiana code concerning professions and occupations. Summary: Regulated occupations. Provides that optometrists may prescribe, dispense, and administer controlled substances.

Repeals the law governing the following professions, including their professional licensing boards and licenses:
(1) Beauty culture (cosmetologists and barbers).
(2) Commission on dietetic registration and licensure of dietitians.
(3) Hearing aid dealers.
(4) Private investigator firms.
(5) Security guards. Makes conforming and technical changes. The bill has had a Fiscal impact study done on it and published.  The cost to the state is $203,044 to staff and maintain the Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners. The 2011 revenue collected as a result of barbering and cosmetology licenses is $983,646 (a difference of $780,602 after costs for administration of staff for the board).

Link for HB 1006 Action Alert:

Link for Indiana House Bill 1009 - 2012 Second Regular Session

The Bill is sponsored by Rep. David Wolkins (Republican) from District 18. He has been in the Indiana General Assembly since 1988. Email for State Representative David A. Wolkins:<>

The bill is currently in the House Committee on Employment, Labor and Pensions

Committee Members Include: Chair Representative Douglas Gutwein, District 16 (R) Vice Chair Representative Sue Ellspermann, District 74 (R) Members: Bill Davis (R-33), Robert D. Morris (R-84), Mike Speedy (R-90), Greg Steuerwald (R-40), Jerry Torr (R-39), Timothy Wesco (R-21), David L. Niezgodski (D-7), John Bartlett (D-95), Craig Fry (D-5), Clyde Kersey (D-43), Chuck Moseley (D-10). Email addresses for members of the Indiana State Assembly are as follows:<> The number is the member's district number, for example Chuck Moseley is the Representative for District 10, his email is H10@IN.GOV<mailto:H10@IN.GOV>

Susanne S. Warfield - Executive Director
National Coalition of Estheticians, Manufacturers/Distributors & Associations