Masthead
MARCH 12, 2010
News from the CoAEMSP
A COMMITTEE ON ACCREDITATION OF CAAHEP

In This Issue
SCHEDULE OF WEBINARS
BACHELORS DEGREE INCENTIVE ANNOUNCED
SPONSORSHIP MAY BE EASIER TO OBTAIN THAN YOU THINK
TERMINAL COMPETENCY FORM AVAILABLE
PODCAST: "ACCREDITATION--A WELLNESS EXAM FOR YOUR PARAMEDIC EDUCATION PROGRAM"
SAMPLE ACCREDITATION DOCUMENTS NOW AVAILABLE
Quick Links
CoAEMSP Website

CAAHEP Website

NREMT Website

Institute of Medicine Report

National EMS Scope of Practice
Join Our Mailing List
Greetings!

The CoAEMSP is pleased to provide this monthly eUpdate with important information and resources regarding accreditation.

As you may already know, Paramedic candidates who apply for NREMT certification after Dec. 31, 2012, will be required to graduate from a nationally accredited Paramedic educational program.


Our desire is to provide as much assistance and support to programs as possible during the move to accreditation.


Please let us know what you think of this eUpdate and what type of information you would like us to cover.


We look forward to partnering with you.




Best regards,
The CoAEMSP Staff

Schedule of Webinars
"What You Need to Know About Becoming Accredited"

  Calendar
The CoAEMSP is pleased to provide new accreditation webinars to assist you with the accreditation process and answer your questions. These webinars will typically be held on a monthly basis.

The first webinar, "What You Need to Know About Becoming Accredited", will be held on two different dates for your convenience:

Tuesday, April 27, 12pm ET / 11am CT / 10am MT / 9am PT

Thursday, April 29, 4pm ET / 3pm CT / 2pm MT / 1pm PT

You will be sent an email invitation with the link for registering and joining these valuable webinars. You may attend one or both of them, depending on your needs.

As we develop more webinars, we will alert you of the topics and dates so that you can plan to attend those as well.

We look forward to your attendance and helping you prepare for the accreditation of your Paramedic educational program.

Bachelors Degree Incentive for Program Directors

GraduationOne of the requirements for accreditation is that the program director must possess a Bachelors degree. Because some programs may find it difficult to meet this requirement by the 2013 date, the CoAEMSP Board of Directors voted in 2008 to add this Bachelors Degree Incentive for Program Directors.

This special incentive provides an extended period of time for the Program Director of a new program to obtain his/her Bachelors degree. To be qualified, the program must submit its self study report and fees to the CoAEMSP for evaluation prior to January 1, 2011. Doing so will allow the Program Director to demonstrate continual enrollment and progress (15 semester hours per year) toward a Bachelors degree until successfully completed.

The CoAEMSP desires to make accreditation as accessible as possible and believes this incentive will help programs wanting to become accredited. For more information, contact Dr. George Hatch, CoAEMSP Executive Director at george@coaemsp.org.
 
Sponsorship May Be Easier to Obtain Than You Think
Several Options are Available

In order to become accredited, an educational program must be affiliated with a sponsoring institution. Chances are, your program may already qualify to be affiliated with a sponsoring institution.

Sponsorship requires that a hospital, school or consortium 'sponsors' and maintains primary organizational and financial responsibility for that particular educational program, and is accountable to the accrediting body.

There are a number of sponsorship options. A sponsor can be:
  • a post-secondary academic institution
  • a hospital, clinic or medical center
  • a branch of the U.S. Armed Forces
  • a governmental educational or medical service
  • a consortium consisting of two or more members that exists for the purpose of operating an educational program
This means that fire departments and county/city bodies meet the "governmental or medical service" sponsor option listed above.

Complete descriptions and details regarding sponsorship can be found here.

If you have questions regarding sponsorship, please contact Bill Goding at bill@coaemsp.org or Dr. George Hatch, CoAEMSP Executive Director at george@coaemsp.org.

Terminal Competency Form Available

The CoAEMSP has developed a Terminal Competency Form that programs can use to provide consistent verification of each student's accomplishments of program competencies. The form documents successful completion of didactic, laboratory, clinical, and field internship components of the curriculum. It includes a section for tracking the outcomes of the individual after graduation. The form also provides for the signatures of both the Program Director and the Medical Director. This form is available here.
 
Podcast: "Accreditation--A Wellness Exam for Your Paramedic Education Program"
Featuring Dr. George Hatch, CoAEMSP Executive Director

PodcastDr. George Hatch recently spoke about the accreditation process on EMS EduCast. In this podcast, Dr. Hatch likens the accreditation process to a "wellness" exam for your paramedic education program. Dr. Hatch explains the purpose, process and benefits of accreditation for Paramedic program. Hosted by Greg Friese, the episode also includes Rob Theriault and Bill Toon.
Sample Accreditation Documents Now Available

You can now find sample accreditation documents on the CoAEMSP Website to help you with the accreditation process:

  • INITIAL SELF-STUDY REPORT (ISSR)
  • EXECUTIVE ANALYSIS (EA)
  • APPENDICES

Access these sample documents here.

Thank you for reading this eUpdate. We look forward to sharing more information with you about the accreditation process.
 
Sincerely,

Jennifer Anderson Warwick, MA
CoAEMSP