AAUP 2012 Chicago June 18-20

Updates and Highlights for Attendees

AAUP 2012

June 18-20



 Meeting Program 


 Hotel & Travel Info



Become a fan!


Meeting Sponsors 

In This Issue
Farewell to AAUP 2012
Meeting Evaluations
Save the Date
A History of the Annual Meeting
2012 AAUP Constituency Award
2012-2013 Board & Officers
Session Videos
AAUPWiki Conference Knowledge
Sabre Ad Auction
Exhibitor Prize Winners
Special Thanks
AAUP 2012 in the News

Farewell to AAUP 2012!

Thank you all for making AAUP 2012 such a success! 787 individuals came to Chicago for this year's extraordinary Annual Meeting. We toasted 75 years of AAUP, as well as the future being made by all of you. 


Meeting Evaluations 

Please complete the meeting evaluation online by July 16. Your responses help us to plan future meetings. It's also great way to pass along ideas for next year's program while they are still fresh in your mind! The chair of the 2013 AAUP Annual Meeting Program Committee is Brian Halley, Editor, University of Massachusetts Press. 


Save the Date! 

We're already looking forward to AAUP 2013, where we will help Harvard University Press celebrate 100 years of publishing; and to our return to New Orleans in 2014. Put these dates in your calendar:


2013 AAUP Annual Meeting

June 20-22, 2013

Boston, MA


2014 AAUP Annual Meeting

June 22-24, 2014

New Orleans, LA

Looking Back: A History of the Annual Meeting 

Just before AAUP 2012 kicked off, we took a brief look back at the history of the AAUP Annual Meeting--an event that in fact pre-dates the formal 1937 organization of the association by more than a decade. Do you think we should put "beer and skittles" back on the 2013 agenda? (Let us know in the meeting evaluation!) 


Vicky Wells Receives 2012 Constituency Award

The Constituency Award is presented annually to a press staff member who "has demonstrated active leadership and service to the association and the university press community." Vicky Wells, Director of Contracts and Subsidiary Rights at the University of North Carolina Press, was honored by her colleagues at the Tuesday luncheon banquet in Chicago.


In nominating Vicky, AAUP members noted her dedication and effort on behalf of the AAUP Copyright Committee on which she has served for many years, including several terms as chair. She was instrumental in the development of the AAUP Permission FAQs (PDF) and has been indefatigably generous in sharing her knowledge and experience of rights negotiations, online piracy, and permissions conundrums with all of AAUP.


Browse previous Constituency Awards  


AAUP Board and Officers 2012-2013

New officers and directors-at-large joined the board in Chicago. Philip Cercone (McGill-Queens) is President-Elect and Eric Smist (Johns Hopkins) took office as Treasurer-Elect. Garret Kiely (Chicago), Mark Saunders (Virginia), and Sheila Leary (Wisconsin) joined as directors-at-large.


MaryKatherine Callaway delivered her valedictory speech on Tuesday, June 19, and we welcomed Peter Dougherty as 2012-13 President at the luncheon on June 20.


Richard Brown (Georgetown), Barbara Pope (National Academies), Carol Kasper (Chicago), Kathy Stein (American Psychiatric), and Dave Hamrick (Texas) completed their terms and stepped down from the board. We thank them for their service.


Session Videos  

We are grateful to Finitiv for helping to underwrite the cost of filming one track of the AAUP 2012 sessions. The following panels and plenaries were filmed, and the videos will be available online in approximately two weeks:

  • Patron-Driven Acquisition from the Publisher's Point of View: Report from a Mellon-funded Study
  • The Future of Tenure and Promotion
  • Federal Mandates and Open Access
  • Publishing Translations: Perils and Rewards
  • Fundraising (and Alternatives) in a Tough Economy
  • Making Your Metadata Better
  • Is This Really My Job? (Or, How Digital Publishing has Changed the Workflow at a Scholarly Press)
  • IGNITE! Collaborating with Users, Curating Content, Building Community
  • Friendly Budget Basics for Non-Financial Managers

Conference Knowledge on the AAUPWiki 

All session chairs and panelists are invited to share their notes and presentations via the AAUPWiki AAUP 2012 Conference Knowledge site. If you have PowerPoint slides that you would like to host on the AAUP Slideshare channel, please contact Regan Colestock (rcolestock@aaupnet.org).


Sabre Ad Auction        

The Sabre Ad Auction raised $8,250 to support the Foundation's book donation programs in sub-Saharan Africa. Winning bids were placed by the University of Alabama Press, Georgetown University Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Our thanks go to The Chronicle Review, Harper's Magazine, The New Republic, The New York Review of Books, and Publishers Weekly.

Winners: Exhibitor Prize Drawings 

Thanks to the Exhibitors who offered a selection of amazing prizes to AAUP 2012 attendees. We're pleased to announce the winners of drawings, announced on Wednesday, June 20, at the AAUP 75th anniversary bash.

  • Allen Press: Kindle Fire; Terence Smyre (Nebraska)
  • Baker & Taylor: Nook Color; Denise Peeler (Illinois)
  • BookMasters: Nook Color; Julie Schoelles (Penn State)
  • Book Partners: $500 certificate toward Book Partners order; Jade Von Tunglen (Texas Tech)
  • C-M Books: $75 Visa gift card; Betsy Litz (Princeton)
  • C-M Books: $75 Panera Bread gift card; Toni Gunnison (Wisconsin)
  • ColorHouse Graphics: Amazon gift certificate; Amanda Sharp (Georgia)
  • ColorHouse Graphics: Barnes and Noble gift certificate; Beatrice Hohenegger (Getty)
  • ColorHouse Graphics: 12% discount off next order; Karen Fortgang (Princeton)
  • codeMantra: Kindle Fire; Eric Zinner (NYU)
  • CrossRef: Kindle Fire; Derek George (Texas)
  • ebrary: $100 iTunes gift card; Carol Stein (ASCA)
  • Ecological Fibers: A one-week stay in Orlando company condo; Valerie McLaughlin (Swedenborg Foundation)
  • IBT: $100 gift card; Clydette Wantland (Illinois)
  • LBS: Collection of boutique office products; Christine Choi (Duke)
  • Marquis: $1,000 book printing gift certificate; Jenny Hunt (Baylor)
  • McNaughton & Gunn: $100 Visa gift card; Katy Wildfong (Wayne State)
  • Thomson-Shore: $100 Visa gift card; Harv Humphrey (Notre Dame)
  • University of Toronto Press: iPod Touch; Mary Ann Jacob (Texas A&M)
  • Virtusales: Blackberry Playbook and free day of consulting; Heather Smith (Penn State)

Special Thanks

Once again, we would like to extend our thanks to the AAUP 2012 Program Committee, who did a fantastic job organizing a timely and thorough program of sessions and panels; as well as the Sponsors and Exhibitors who helped make this meeting a success.


AAUP 2012 in the News 

Throughout the conference, following #aaup12 was a lively and fascinating window into all the sessions you couldn't make.


There's been some interesting media coverage of the meeting and various panels, as well. Here's a taste:


At Meeting of University Press, Future Presses In
Jennifer Howard, Chronicle of Higher Education


The Best Book They'd Ever Acquired
Nina Ayoub, PageView  


Affection for PDA
Steve Kolowich, InsideHigherEd 


Thousands of Books. Thousands of Libraries. Millions of Users.  The UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE.

Thank you for registering for AAUP 2012! This newsletter is an ongoing source of updates and highlights for attendees preparing for the conference. An option to unsubscribe is below.