Tues., Sept. 4, 2012 


Indiana Association of
Soil and Water
Conservation Districts
$177,646 grant for conservation cropping systems goes to IASWCD 


 Indianapolis -- The National Fish and Wildlife Foundation (NFWF) awarded the Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts a $177,646 grant to continue the Conservation Cropping Systems INitiative's (CCSI) work on no-till and cover crops in Indiana.


The grant, funded through the Walton Family Foundation, NFWF and the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, is presented to the CCSI. Funds will be matched by Clean Water Indiana dollars over two years.   


"This private support helps us continue CCSI for another two years and focus on the technical assistance, field days and other on-the-ground work for farmers," says Ray McCormick, IASWCD president.


Hans Kok
Hans Kok, CCSI coordinator, talks about the importance of cover crops at a field day in Henry County.

"While our goal is to increase the adoption of conservation cropping systems throughout much of Indiana, education is critical to the success of the this type of production system.


The grant will provide access and assistance to make the needed transitions. CCSI staff will provide the expert training to agency and private sector employees to increase the number of people available to provide technical assistance to farmers.


 "By combining healthy soil with advanced conservation and production technologies, we can build a more efficient and dynamic system that also protects our soil, water, and wildlife resources," McCormick adds. 


#     #     #  

IASWCD Staff:  

For additional information contact:

Jennifer Boyle Warner, IASWCD Executive Director, 317-692-7519 

Indiana Association of Soil & Water Conservation Districts 


President: Ray McCormick
, Knox Co.

Vice President: Jeff Meinders,, Ripley Co.

Secretary: Paul Cummings, Owen Co.
Treasurer: Jamie Scott, Kosciusko Co. 

Region Directors: 


North-NW: Larry Strole, Newton Co.

South-NW: Mike Starkey, Hendricks Co.

North-NE: Tom Crowe, Allen Co.

South-NE: Bobby Hettmansperger, Wabash Co. 

North-SW: Les Zimmerman, Vermillion Co.

South-SW: Jim Droege, Posey Co.  

North-SE: Mike Schwab, Franklin Co.

South-SE: Brad Ponsler, Jennings Co.