Monday, May 21, 2012

Conservation Cropping Systems INitiative receives Indiana Wildlife Federation award        

Indianapolis -- The Conservation Cropping Systems INitiative

was among eight recipients of conservation awards Saturday night. The setting was the Indiana Wildlife Federation's (IWF) annual Conservation Awards Banquet at Spring Mill State Park.


Every year, IWF honors Indiana residents and organizations that have made significant contributions to conservation and environmental issues.


Governor Mitch Daniels led the list of award winners that includes a state senator, coalition of government agencies, and other conservation advocates.


All of this year's winners pursue a common goal to improve Indiana's environment and make our state a better place for wildlife. Any IWF member can nominate an individual or group for an award, and IWF's directors select winners from the pool of nominees.


The 2012 Indiana Wildlife Federation Conservation Award Winners included:


Governor Mitch Daniels who received the Theodore Roosevelt Award for his dedication to conservation as demonstrated by large-scale projects such as the Goose Pond acquisition, Healthy Rivers INitiative, and Bicentennial Nature Trust.


CCSI is an Indiana Conservation Partnership project comprised of the Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, Indiana State Department of Agriculture Division of Soil Conservation, Purdue Cooperative Extension Service, State Soil Conservation Board, and other partners.


CCSI earned IWF's Agriculture Conservation Award for its work promoting environmentally-friendly farming techniques including continuous no-till/strip-till farming, using cover crops, precision farming, and nutrient and pest management. USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service and Clean Water Indiana funds support CCSI's work.


Senator David Long, Fort Wayne, received the Legislative Conservationist of the Year award for his work to stop legislation that would have allowed canned hunting in Indiana.


Angela Hughes, government relations associate for The Nature Conservancy, earned the Conservation Communicator of the Year award for her work leading the Indiana Conservation Alliance and Conservation Day at the State House every year.


Jack Corpuz, Indianapolis, received the Theodore Roosevelt Award for his years of work with state officials to improve Indiana's hunting and fishing license programs, which generate revenue for conservation programs.


Jeanette Wilson, Indiana Department of Transportation, received the President's Award, a prize given at the discretion of IWF's president. Wilson has been instrumental in supporting efforts to reduce mowing and increase native plant species on Indiana's roadsides, practices that save the state money and helps wildlife.


The Conservation Educator of the Year, Nicole Messacar, teaches children about wildlife and conservation issues through her role as Education Coordinator for the LaPorte County Soil & Water Conservation District.


North Dearborn Conservation Club, IWF's Conservation Club of the Year, has educated local youth about safe hunting practices since 1937.


Phil Cox, this year's Paul Bunner Conservationist of Year, worked tirelessly to several hundred acres of prairie at the Newport Army Depot. His work fostered the return of several state-endangered grassland bird species and other rare wildlife species.



Kyle Burns

Communications Director

Indiana Wildlife Federation


[email protected]



For additional information contact:

Hans Kok, CCSI, Coordinator, 208.596.2618
Dan Towery, CCSI Coordinator, 765.490.0197
DeeDee Sigler, IASWCD communications manager, 317.692.7374


Indiana Association of Soil & Water Conservation Districts 


President: Ray McCormick
, Knox Co.

Vice President: Jeff Meinders,, Ripley Co.

Secretary: Paul Cummings, Owen Co.
Treasurer: Jamie Scott, Kosciusko Co. 

Region Directors: 


North-NW: Larry Strole, Newton Co.

South-NW: Mike Starkey, Hendricks Co.

North-NE: Tom Crowe, Allen Co.

South-NE: Bobby Hettmansperger, Wabash Co. 

North-SW: Les Zimmerman, Vermillion Co.

South-SW: Jim Droege, Posey Co.  

North-SE: Mike Schwab, Franklin Co.

South-SE: Brad Ponsler, Jennings Co. 



IASWCD Staff: 


Executive Director: Jennifer Boyle Warner, 317.692.7519

Conservation Development Specialist:
Janice Bullman, 317.692.7514

Project Assistant: Liz Rice, 317.692.7325

Communications Manager: DeeDee Sigler, 317.692.7374