Tuesday, April 17, 2012


from the
Indiana Association of
Soil and Water
Conservation Districts

Celebrate stewardship week, honor local farmers        

Indianapolis -- In just 12 days, Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCDs) across Indiana will celebrate Soil and Water Stewardship Week from April 29 to May 6, 2012.


River Friendly Farmer logoThe Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts (IASWCD) is celebrating Stewardship Week by highlighting the work  farmers do to protect their rivers, lakes and streams. Local farmers who are excellent conservationists can be honored for the River Friendly Farmer Award.


Nominations for the 2012 award may be made through a county SWCD this year. The deadline to submit nominations to the IASWCD is Wednesday, June 27.


The award seeks to bring recognition to Hoosier farmers who use conservation practices in an environmentally and economically sound way that protect and improve Indiana's soil and water resources for future generations. 


"We have honored over 600 farmers since the River Friendly Farmer award was developed in 2000," says Ray McCormick, IASWCD president. McCormick, a Knox County farmer, also is a past award recipient.


"It is appropriate to draw attention to this award during Soil and Water Stewardship Week as we point out the great strides Indiana producers are making in improving our soil health.


"We continue to work with our Indiana Conservation Partnership through the Conservation Cropping Systems INitiative and other collaborations to promote a systematic approach to production agriculture focusing on continuous no-till/strip-till, cover crops, precision farming and nutrient and pest management," he added.


Lt. Governor Becky Skillman, left, and Indiana Farm Bureau President Don Villwock, right, present the 2011 River Friendly Farmer Award to Steve Winger, Howard County, one of 50 recipients last year.

If you would like to nominate a farmer for the River Friendly Farmer award, contact your local SWCD. You can also contact the IASWCD with any questions at 317.692.7325.


2012 recipients will be honored August 15 at the Indiana State Fair during a 1 p.m. Farmers' Day ceremony at the 4-H Exhibit Hall Auditorium. 

For additional information contact:

DeeDee Sigler, IASWCD communications manager
317.692.7374 or 317.431.6098

Indiana Association of Soil & Water Conservation Districts 


President: Ray McCormick
, Knox Co.

Vice President: Jeff Meinders,, Ripley Co.

Secretary: Paul Cummings, Owen Co.
Treasurer: Jamie Scott, Kosciusko Co. 

Region Directors: 


North-NW: Larry Strole, Newton Co.

South-NW: Mike Starkey, Hendricks Co.

North-NE: Tom Crowe, Allen Co.

South-NE: Bobby Hettmansperger, Wabash Co. 

North-SW: Les Zimmerman, Vermillion Co.

South-SW: Jim Droege, Posey Co.  

North-SE: Mike Schwab, Franklin Co.

South-SE: Brad Ponsler, Jennings Co. 



IASWCD Staff: 


Executive Director: Jennifer Boyle Warner, 317.692.7519

Conservation Development Specialist:
Janice Bullman, 317.692.7514

Project Assistant: Liz Rice, 317.692.7325

Communications Manager: DeeDee Sigler, 317.692.7374