Lakeville Area Public Schools
8670 210th Street West
Lakeville, MN 55044

Lakeville Area Public Schools
PRESS RELEASE                                                                            FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Semifinalists in the 2013
National Merit Scholarship Program

Contact: Eileen Artemakis                                              Phone: (847) 866-5100
              Public Information                                           Email:
Caution: Using numbers of Semifinalists to compare high schools, educational systems, or states will result in erroneous conclusions.  The National Merit Scholarship Program honors individual students who show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies.  The program does not measure the quality or effectiveness of education within a school, system, or state.  For more information about the competition, please visit NMSC's website at

Semifinalists Named in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program
September 17, 2012 (Evanston, Illinois)-On Wednesday, September 12, 2012, officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 58th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.  These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring.  To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition.  About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing and more than half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.
NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 440 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC's goals of honoring the nation's scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.
Steps in the 2013 Competition
About 1.5 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2011 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAD/NMSQT), which served as an initial screen of program entrants.  The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one precent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.  The number of Semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state's percentage of national total of graduating seniors.
The following students from Lakeville high schools have been chosen as National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists:
 Lakeville North                       Lakeville South
                                  Clarissa Binder                        Blake Black
                                  David Degrood                         Meredith Brand
                                  Christina Kyllo                         Robert Trone
                                  Priya Tekriwal
                                  Joshua You
To become a Finalist, the Semifinalists and their high school must submit a detailed scholarship application in which they provide information about the Semifinalist's academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, and honors and awards received.  A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student's earlier performance on the qualifying test.
From the approximately 16,000 Semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the Finalist level and in February they will be notified of this designation.  All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from this group of Finalists.  Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gener, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.
National Merit Scholarships
Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2013.  Every Finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2500 Scholarships that will be awarded on a state representational basis.  About 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards will be provided by approximately 240 corporations and business organizations for Finalists who meet their specified criteria, such as children of the grantor's employees or residents of communities where sponsor plants or offices are located.  In addition, about 200 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 4,800 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards for Finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.
National Merit Scholarship winners of 2013 will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July.  These scholarship recipients will join more than 291,000 other distinguished young people who have earned the Merit Scholar title.



About ISD 194, The Lakeville Area Public Schools
Independent School District 194, the Lakeville Area Public Schools, is an award winning school system located in the South Metro of the Twin Cities of Minneapolis and St Paul Minnesota. The District serves approximately 10,800 students in Dakota County and Scott County, and covers 86 square miles, including most of Lakeville, parts of Burnsville and Elko New Market, and portions of Eureka, Credit River and New Market Townships. There are eight elementary schools (K-5), three middle schools (6-8) and two high schools (9-12), an Area Learning Center and two Community Education facilities.


Lakeville Area Public Schools
Katie (Kaehler) Skapyak
Communications Specialist
(p) 952-232-2003
Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter