Friends Header

Please help us get word out on extreme fire danger conditions in Madera Canyon and the rest of the Coronado National Forest.  


The Forest Service has implemented Stage II fire restrictions across the Forest. Restrictions will remain in place until July 31 or until they are rescinded due to decreased fire danger.  


Current prohibitions on all ranger districts of the Coronado National Forest, including Madera Canyon, are:

  • Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire, campfire, charcoal, coal, or wood stove fire, including within a developed recreation site, or improved site.
  • Using an explosive.
  • Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or building.
  • Operating or using any internal combustion engine, except motor vehicles.
  • Welding, or operating acetylene or other torch with open flame.
  • Discharging a firearm, air rifle, or gas gun, except while engaged in a lawful hunt pursuant to state, federal, or tribal law and regulations.
  • Possessing or using a motor vehicle off National Forest system roads, except when parking in an area devoid of vegetation within 30 feet of the roadway, and except for parking overnight in Forest Service developed campgrounds and trailheads.

Prohibitions are temporary and will be lifted when fire restrictions expire. Violations are punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000 for individuals and $10,000 for organizations, imprisonment for not more than six months, or both.  Fireworks are always prohibited on National Forest lands.


For additional information on fire restrictions on public lands in Arizona and New Mexico please call the toll-free Regional Fire Restrictions Hotline at 1-877-864-6985.


Please do your part in keeping Madera Canyon and surrounding lands safe from wildfire. Forward this note to friends who might be visiting the canyon. If you see unsafe activities while you are visiting contact the ranger on duty or call 911.   



Join Our Mailing List

If this note was forwarded to you and you would like to get your own copy of future mailings, please click the Join Our Mailing List button. It's easy. It's free. We will be happy to add you to our list of friends.

Board Members
Tom Purdon (President), Willem Van Kempen, (Vice-President), Eileen Buckel (Secretary), Louise Gibbeson (Treasurer, Special Events), George Cottay (VP Marketing, Newsletter Publisher, Web Master), Dita-Erika Hagen (Archives, Preservation, Nominating, Marketing), Tamara Kahrimanis (Adult Education Programs), Wally Lamb (Visitor Information Station, Storage and Inventory), Jerry Popham (Bat House Research, Special Projects, Mailing), Judy Thoreson (Miles and Hours, Annual Meeting), Judy Maury (Marketing Group), Larry Johnson (VP Operations).  
Doug Moore (Director of Education), Carol Lambert (Fund Raising, Special Projects, Finance/Audit), Ruth Maloblocki (Retail Sales), Sondra Dexter (Scholarships), Mike Staples (Canyon Clean-up), Ellen and George West (Membership and Dues Administration), George West (Newsletter Editor), Rozanne Roman (Accessible Trails).