RAM Logo
Racine, WI     September 21, 2012

RAM Director Elected to Receive One of the Highest Honors in the
Field of American Craft


The Racine Art Museum, Racine, WI is pleased to announce that RAM Executive Director and Curator of Collections, Bruce W. Pepich has been elected as a 2012 Honorary Fellow by the American Craft Council (ACC). The prestigious American Craft Council Awards recognize individuals and organizations for excellence in craftsmanship and significant contributions to the field of contemporary American craft.   


Pepich earned a BA Degree in Art History from Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, Illinois in 1974. Later that year he was hired as a Project Manager at the Charles A. Wustum Museum of Fine Arts, and be

Image of Bruce Pepich
Photo: Skip Simonson 

came its Director in 1980. Since then, Pepich has grown the museum into a two-site institution, raising over 10 million dollars in a capital campaign to open the Racine Art Museum (RAM), an off-shoot of Wustum, with an award-winning new building in downtown Racine. Under his leadership, RAM has expanded its craft collection to be one of the largest in the country that includes seminal works like Toshiko Takaezu's Star Series. Pepich has received The Ann Koski Professional Excellence Award from the Wisconsin Federation of Museums, 2010; The State of Wisconsin Governor's Award in the Arts from the Wisconsin Foundation for the Arts and Governor Jim Doyle of the State of Wisconsin, 2010 and the Wisconsin Visual Art Lifetime Achievement Award from the Museum of Wisconsin Art, Wisconsin Visual Arts, and the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts, and Letters in 2011.


Since 1975, the Council has bestowed the title of Fellow to artists nominated and elected by their peers and who have demonstrated extraordinary artistic ability and must have worked 25 years or more in the discipline or career in which they are being recognized. Each Awardee is featured in the October/November 2012 issue of American Craft magazine and will be honored at the 2012 American Craft Council Awards Ceremony, November 2nd at the InterContinental Hotel Chicago. The Ceremony is open to the public; tickets can be purchased by contacting the American Craft Council at 612-206-3100 or online.


Other 2012 American Craft Council Awards recipients include Sharon Church, Anne Currier, Andrea Gill, Lewis Knauss, Tom Loeser (also from Wisconsin), Dante Marioni, Sherri Smith, Stephen De Staebler, Sidney D. Rosoff, and Nancy M. McNeil.


The American Craft Council is a national, nonprofit public educational organization founded in 1943 by Aileen Osborn Webb. The mission of the Council is to promote understanding and appreciation of contemporary American craft.

Together, the two campuses of the Racine Art Museum, RAM in downtown Racine at 441 Main Street and the Charles A. Wustum Museum of Fine Arts at 2519 Northwestern Avenue, seek to elevate the stature of contemporary crafts to that of fine art by exhibiting significant works in craft media with painting, sculpture and photography, while providing outstanding educational art programming.

Docent led contemporary craft and architectural tours of the museums are available. Both campuses of the Racine Art Museum, are open to the public Tuesday - Saturday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm, and are closed Mondays, Federal holidays and Easter. RAM is open Sunday Noon - 5:00 pm, while Wustum is closed Sundays. An admission fee of $5 for adults, with reduced fees for students and seniors, applies at RAM. Admission to Wustum is free. Members are always admitted without charge to either campus.

Quick Links

For more information or to request images, please contact:

Laura Gillespie
RAM Marketing Assistant
262.638.8300 x 114