RAM Logo
Press Release                                          FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Racine, WI     April 21, 2011


Winners Announced for RAM's 2nd Annual International PEEPSŪ Competition
Peeps 2011 Oz

Museum visitor viewing Grace Siler's, The Wonderful Peeps of Oz

Winners were recently announced for the 2nd Annual International PEEPSŪ Competition at the Racine Art Museum. Through Thursday, April 28, RAM presents an untraditional exhibition showcasing fluffy, sugar coated marshmallow PEEPSŪ. All entries were judged by a panel of experts, based on creativity and best use or representation of PEEPSŪ. Prizes, including PEEPSŪ Brand Prize Packages, were awarded in both adult and children's categories.


Winners include:

Under 12
First Peep: Grace Siler, The Wonderful Peeps of Oz
Second Peep: Alissa Burke, Candy Warhol
Honorable Mention: Anneliese Cuene, Peepettes


Ages 12 - 18
First Peep: Teddy and Zachary Vollman, The Peepza Parlor
Second Peep: Olivia Wieland, The Grand Peepon Ski Resort
Honorable Mention: Julie Sigrist, Zompeep


Over 18
First Peep: Kathryn A. Strege, Vee-chee-Peep-non-Kee
Second Peep: Grace Lohaus, Peep Wanna Be
Honorable Mention: Carol Boehm, Shpeepx in the Valley of the Peeps


Mayor's Award of Merit
Madeline Thompson, Dawn of the Peeps


RAM Executive Director's Award of Merit
Steve Namowicz, Afternoon Delight


Visitors to the museum can vote for their favorite PEEPSŪ creation through Thursday, April 28. One lucky artist will take home the coveted PEEPles Choice Award.



Alysa Bardega, Carlisle Bellgraph-Brown, Denessa Bellgraph-Brown, Carol Boehm, Alissa Burke, Ann Burke, Johnny Burke, Amanda Burmeister, Rena Church, Anneliese Cuene, Helena Cuene, Lori M. Cuene, Rebecca Davison, Joshua Demitro, Kelly Drumm, Tammy Easton, Alex Fite, Andrew Fite, Christian Fite, Laura Grayson, Christian Jantz, Nick Jantz, Barbara L. Jensen, Lillian Jerry, Madeline Jerry, Ray "Moon" Johnson, Erika Kent, Hans Larson, Tyler Lewis, Joya Locklair, Tessa Locklair, Josie LoCurto, Grace Lohaus, Juliajoy S. Matthies, Cayenne Meisterheim, Griffin Meisterheim, Steve Namowicz, Ellen Nestler, Sophie Ng, Andrew Nielsen, Audrey Nielsen, Sarah Nielsen, Wesley Paffrath and Family, Lindsey Paulin, Noelle A. Paulin, Bill Reid, Jennifer Reisenauer, Keith Roberson, Nathan Roberson, Patty Roberson, Justin Schuster, Sarah Schuster, Julie Sigrist, Grace Siler, Liz Snyder, Hannah Sorensen, Karen Sorensen, Kathryn A. Strege, Madeline Thompson, Dyan Tishuk, Teddy Vollman, Zachary Vollman, Cherry Wardrip, Jim Wardrip, Olivia Wieland, Stacey Williams-Ng, Kelly Witte, J.M. Wood


Competition sponsored by Racine Art Museum Store.  
First and Second prizes provided by PEEPSŪ,  

a registered trademark of the Just Born Company.


Together, the two campuses of the Racine Art Museum, RAM in downtown Racine at 441 Main Street and the Charles A. Wustum Museum of Fine Arts at 2519 Northwestern Avenue, seek to elevate the stature of contemporary crafts to that of fine art by exhibiting significant works in craft media with painting, sculpture and photography, while providing outstanding educational art programming.

Docent led contemporary craft and architectural tours of the museums are available. Both campuses of the Racine Art Museum, are open to the public Tuesday - Saturday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm, and are closed Mondays, Federal holidays and Easter. RAM is open Sunday Noon - 5:00 pm, while Wustum is closed Sundays. An admission fee of $5 for adults, with reduced fees for students and seniors, applies at RAM. Admission to Wustum is free. Members are always admitted without charge to either campus.

Quick Links

For more information or to request images, please contact:

Laura Gillespie
RAM Marketing Assistant
262.638.8300 x 114