PEN New England  
The Hemingway Foundation / PEN
The Laurence L. & Thomas Winship / PEN New England
Awards Ceremony
, April 1, 2012, 1:30 - 2:30 p.m.

The 2012 Hemingway/PEN Award

Judges: Andre Dubus III, Sigrid Nunez, and Edith Pearlman

Teju Cole
Open City (Random House)

Open City 

Amy Waldman, The Submission (Farrar, Straus and Giroux) 
Stephanie Powell Watts
, We Are Taking Only What We Need
(BkMk Press)

The Submission 

Honorable Mention 
Chad Harbach, The Art of Fielding (Little, Brown)
Marjorie Hudson, Accidental Birds of the Carolinas (Press 53)

The Art of Fielding Accidenal Birds

The 2012 Winship/
PEN New England Awards 

Judges: Jeanne Marie Beaumont, Mimi Schwartz, and Crystal Wilkinson   

Yannick Murphy 
The Call (Harper Perennial)

The Call 


Elizabeth Willis 
Address (Wesleyan University Press)



Mitchell Zuckoff 
Lost In Shangri-La (Harper)
Lost in Shangra La

More information to follow...

PEN (Poets/Playwrights, Essayists/Editors, Novelists) New England is an organization of published authors, aspiring writers, and all who love the written word.  Our mission is to advance a culture of literature in New England and defend free expression everywhere. PEN New England is a branch of PEN American Center, and part of International PEN, the oldest international literary organization and also the oldest human rights organization in the world. 

Not a member of PEN New England yet?
  Click here and join today!