April, 2012

Corporate Sponsors




Galati Yacht Sales


Astrain Tax Consultants


Bac Trac Plumbing Logo


Elite Diesel Logo


J&S Logo 



 Pacific Pools Logo

Pelican Rest


 Release Marine


 Tilson Logo 


West Coast Fishing Club  





Allure Logo


 Cajun Canyons Billfish Classic


   Gartner Coatins



 Isle of Capri Logo








The Tarp Depot






 Del Papa Distributor Logo


Farquhar Logo


Fox Yacht Sales Logo  


J.W. Hall Enterprises 




Rick Bogert


Texas Legends Logo





Blue Water Chairs

Central Texas Bar-B-Q

Garner Environmental

 Gray Taxidermy

Gulf Coast Composite


Moody National Bank

Omni Hotels

Paparda Rey, LLC

Quality Fishing Guides

Richard Richardson Ins., TWFG Insurance Services

Serious Tackle

Silver King Adventures

XTC Boutique

Yacht Equipment Services










On The Wire

Houston Big Game Fishing Club's Monthly Newsletter


The Club's 8th Annual Awards Banquet was a huge success!  The Club broke all previous fundraising records! 


Buddy SchultzBrian Yeager and Mandy Trahan


We would like to thank the Banquet Donors and Buyers for making this possible!


Blue Water Chairs
Boat Mat Corporation
Bobby Carter, Mississippi Gulf Coast Billfish Classic
Brian Grange, West Coast Fishing Club
Buddy and Kay Kantowski, J.W. Hall Enterprises
Buddy and Marita Schultz, Pelican Rest Marina
Carl and Vickey Hutchins
Cliff and Sherri Mountain, BacTrac Plumbing
Del Papa Distributors
Fred and Lauren Pyle, The Tarp Depot
George and Donna Gartner, Gartner Coatings
Gordon and Mary Morse
Gray Taxidermy
Guy Harvey
Harrah's Casino, New Orleans
Hill and Donelle Dishman, Allure
Isle of Capri Casino, Lake Charles
J.W. and Patricia Bones, Mojo
James Plaag, Silver King Adventures
John and Samantha Bowen, Elite Diesel
John and Susan Richardson, J&S Water Wells
John Cochrane and Bobby Byrd, Texas Legends Billfish Tournament
Jose Astrain, Astrain Tax Consultants
Ken Yarbrough, MCSI Staffing
Kevin and Alicia Deerman
Kevin and Heather Harper, Pacific Pools
Kurt and Carolyn Nelson
L.G. Boyd, Quality Fishing Guides
Larry Rackley, Marine Artist
Marc and Tammie Gentry
Michael and Lisa Thorn-Leeson
Mike and Lisa Miller
Mike and Nina Hopkins
Mike Kent, Interlux Paint
Omni Hotel
Pam Basco
Rick Bogert, Marine Artist
Sam and Melissa Peters, Release Marine
Serious Tackle
Steve Thomas, Cajun Canyons Billfish Classic
Tommy and Sandra LeClere, Central Texas Bar-B-Q
Yacht Equipment Service Centers



Billy Cain
Brandon Griffith
Buddy and Marita Schultz
Darryl Schroeder
Edward Cieszkiewicz
Francy Fondren
Greg Gerhart
Jack and Carol Beal
Jeff and Phyllis Nesmith
Joe Larrow
John and Christi Jensen
Ken Yarbrough
Marc and Ann Grosz
Marty and Anna Griffith
Michael and Lisa Thorn-Leeson
Mike Johnston
Red and Gay Griffin
Russell and Sherry Potter



We would like to congratulate Captain Kevin Deerman for winning the 1st Annual Jim Peachey Outstanding Captain Award! Kevin was selected for this very special award based on his representation to his profession, big game fishing success, commitment to conservation, mentoring, boat handling skills, contributions to the Club and several more incredible attributes.

Kevin Deerman


We would also like to congratulate Brett Holden and the Booby Trap fishing team for winning Top Private Boat and Top Male Angler as well as being voted into the Club Hall of Fame!



 Lone Star Shootout

Tournament season is fast approaching.  Mark your calendars for the Lone Star Shootout's new dates July 24 - 29, 2012.  This will be our 3rd year at Caracol in Port O'Connor and we expect the biggest field, biggest payouts and the great food and parties you have come to expect.    Mark the dates and get your crew lined up for the biggest and best Lone Star Shootout yet! 


Congratulations to Brian Yeager for winning a beautiful Billfish Foundation wristwatch! Brian participated in The Billfish Foundation's "Economic Importance of Billfishing in the Gulf of Mexico".  Brian and several other Members who completed the survey entered the drawing for the watch and Brian's name was selected. The survey results will be published in the May edition of "On the Wire".


Have you renewed your membership?  Click here to renew online today! Get your entire family involved.  Discounted family memberships are available.


Club Awards

In the International Division, J.W and Pat Bones' Mojo is leading the way with 25,800 points.  Buddy Schultz' Gotcha is in second place with 12,800 points.  Kevin Deerman is still leading the Top Male Angler category with 1,700 points, with Buddy Schultz in a close second with 1,500 points and Cliff Mountain in third place with 1,400 points.  Pat Bones is leading the Top Female Angler category with an incredible 10,200 points!


In the Texas Division, Brandon Perthuis' Chase This is currently the Top Boat with 1,250 points and Pat Wallace's Tres Ninos is in close second with 1,110 points. Brandon Perthuis is also in first place in the Top Male Angler category and Lisa King is still in first place in the Top Female Angler category.


Get involved in the year long tournament by submitting a verification form for each catch and release!  Click here for Club Awards Program information and verification forms.


Sponsors of the Month...


J&S LogoJ&S Logo



 Pacific Pools Logo


Pelican Rest 



Since the inception of the Club, Founding Member John Richardson, owner of J&S Water Wells of Bellville, has been a loyal member of the Club.  In addition to his monetary contributions, John actively supports the Club by generously donating to the Annual Awards Banquet.


Since 2005, Kevin Harper, owner of Pacific Pools, has served on the Board of Directors for the Club.  In addition to his time served on the Board, Kevin actively supports the Club by donating to the Annual Awards Banquet and fishing The Lone Star Shootout. 


Buddy Schultz, owner of the new Pelican Rest Marina on Offatts Bayou, generously donates his boat and crew to our Annual Awards Banquet auction.


Thank you for your continued support! 




Send us your fishing pictures and stories!  We will include them in our newsletter and on our website and brochures!


The Club office has moved!  The office is now located at the Pelican Rest Marina in the Galati Yacht Sales offices in Galveston.  The new address and telephone numbers are:

7819 Broadway, Suite 100

Galveston, Texas  77554

T: 409.744.2307   F: 409.744.2313



2012 Board of Directors



Marc Gentry, President

Michael Thorn-Leeson, 1st Vice President
Deano Merrigan, 2nd Vice President
Randy Bright, Treasurer
Kevin Harper, Secretary
Kevin Deerman
Richard B. Richardson
Fred Pyle
Kirk Elliott
Russell Potter