March, 2012

Corporate Sponsors




Galati Yacht Sales


Astrain Tax Consultants


Bac Trac Plumbing Logo


Elite Diesel Logo


J&S Logo 



 Pacific Pools Logo

Pelican Rest


 Tilson Logo 





Allure Logo


 Cajun Canyons Billfish Classic


   Gartner Coatins



 Isle of Capri Logo






Release Marine





The Tarp Depot






 Del Papa Distributor Logo


Farquhar Logo


J.W. Hall Enterprises 



Mechanical Contracting Services, Inc. 


Rick Bogert


Texas Legends Logo





Blue Water Chairs

Central Texas Bar-B-Q

Gray Taxidermy

Paparda Rey, LLC

Quality Fishing Guides

Serious Tackle










On The Wire

Houston Big Game Fishing Club's Monthly Newsletter

The Club's 8th Annual Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, March 31st, 2012 at the Omni Hotel, Galleria, Houston. Join the Club for a delicious dinner, premium open bar, awards presentation, raffle and live auction!  Come prepared to bid on incredible offshore fishing trips to Panama and Costa Rica, tournament entries, an outdoor summer kitchen, catering packages and much, much more! We look forward to seeing you there! Mail your RSVP's to the Club today!


 Lone Star Shootout

Tournament season will be here in a few short months and plans are coming together for the 2012 Lone Star Shootout.  Please note the very important date change to July 24 - 29, 2012.  This is the week after the Poco Bueno tournament and provides us the opportunity for better weather and more boats.  This will be our 3rd year at Caracol in Port O'Connor and we expect the biggest field, biggest payouts and the great food and parties you have come to expect.  Watch your email in the coming days for more information.  Mark the dates and get your crew lined up for the biggest and best Lone Star Shootout yet! 


Have you renewed your membership?  Click here to renew online today! Get your entire family involved.  Discounted family memberships are available.


Brett Holden's 2nd Annual Texas Swordfish Seminar is scheduled for March 24, 2012 at the Surfside Marina! 100% of the proceeds benefit veterans of Everyday Heroes, Inc.  Click Here for more details.


Congratulations to Michael and Lisa Thorn-Leeson!  Michael was the high bidder on an incredible offshore fishing trip to the Cape Verde Islands at The Billfish Foundation's 2011 Awards Dinner. Michael and Lisa will spend two days of fishing the waters off the coast of Africa, known for its plentiful Blue Marlin, with Captain Marty Bates, The Billfish Foundation's Top Release Blue Marlin Captain in the Atlantic in 2010!


Club Awards

In the International Division, J.W and Pat Bones' Mojo is leading the way with 6,600 points.  Buddy Schultz' Gotcha is a close second with 4,800 points.  Kevin Deerman is leading the Top Male Angler category with 1,700 points, with Buddy Schultz in a close second with 1,500 points.  Pat Bones is leading the Top Female Angler category with a whopping 2,600 points!


In the Texas Division, Lisa King has released the first sailfish of the year while fishing on Pat Wallace's Tres Ninos! 


The Wahoo bite is on!  Randy King caught a 90 pound Wahoo about 11 miles off of South Pass out of Venice, Louisiana and Tom Pattillo caught an 81 pound Wahoo at the west Flower Gardens.


               Randy King    

Sponsors of the Month...


Galati Yacht Sales 

Galati Yacht Sales has been a valued Corporate Sponsor of the Club since its inception.  For eight years, Galati Yacht Sales has not only sponsored several of the Club's events, but has also donated office space for the Club's headquarters.  Thank you to the Galati family and Randy Bright for your incredibly generous support of the Club year after year.



Tilson Logo 


Since 2010, Tilson Home Corporation has been a vital Corporate Sponsor of the Club.  Thank you to Tilson Home Corporation and Michael Thorn-Leeson for your continued support.




Thank you for your continued support! 



Send us your fishing pictures and stories! 
We love to include them in our newsletter and on our website and brochures!



2012 Board of Directors



Marc Gentry, President

Michael Thorn-Leeson, 1st Vice President
Deano Merrigan, 2nd Vice President
Randy Bright, Treasurer
Kevin Harper, Secretary
Kevin Deerman
Richard B. Richardson
Fred Pyle
Kirk Elliott
Russell Potter