September, 2011

Corporate Sponsors




Galati Logo


Astrain Tax Consultants


Elite Diesel Logo


J&S Logo 



Performance Diesel Logo


 Texas Gulf Coast Refrigeration


Tilson Logo 




 Allure Logo

 Fox Yacht Sales Logo


   Gartner Coatins



 Harrah's Casino Logo


Las Terrazas Logo


Mojo Logo

 Pacific Pools Logo

Pelican Rest

Release Marine




The Tarp Depot




Bealine Logo


Cajun Canyons Logo 



Channell Glass



 Del Papa Distributor Logo


Farquhar Logo



 Isle of Capri Logo


Mechanical Contracting Services, Inc. 



Texas Legends Logo


Titan Tackle




Bac Trac Plumbing

Bart Reese - Merrill Lynch

Bay Point Invitational Billfish Tournament

Blue Water Chairs

Cat Spec, Ltd.

Central Texas Bar-B-Q

Garner Environmental Services

Grifco Transportation

Gulf Coast Composite

Haak Vineyards

Interlux Paint

J.W. Hall Enterprises

KMAC Specialty Services

Moody National Bank

Mundy Maintenance and Services LLC

Paparda Rey, LLC

Richard B. Richardson, Jr. Insurance, TWFG Insurance Services

Rick Bogert, Marine Artist

Serious Tackle

South Texas Yacht Service

Video and Boutique












On The Wire

Houston Big Game Fishing Club's Monthly Newsletter

Fishing Fun


One tough angler!

14 year old Tyler Edwards, the Club's newest Junior Angler and Brett Holden's nephew, showed his tenacity and angling skills August 20th - 21st while fishing aboard the Booby Trap.  After hooking up and releasing a 100 pound and a 150 pound swordfish within the first couple of hours of fishing, a whopping 500+ pound swordfish took the bait and took Tyler and the Booby Trap crew on a 23 hour ride!  Tyler hooked the enormous fish at 1:00pm and battled it through out the day and into the night.  At 4:00am he continued to fight the fish through a small storm that popped up.  After bringing the swordfish close to the boat several times, the Booby Trap crew decided at 6:30am that Tyler, sporting bloody hands and blisters, had given it his all and it was time to call it quits.  Shayne Ellis and Jeff Wilson continued to fight the fish until noon.  The giant fish decided she had challenged the crew enough and pulled the hook on a short run. As for you Tyler, hang in there, you will get em next time!


Tyler EdwardsTyler EdwardsTyler Edwards



Thank you


Dear Houston Big Game Fishing Club,


Colt CookI am the recent recipient of a 2011-2012 HBGFC Scholarship.  I am writing to thank you for bestowing such an honor on me.  It is a privilege to be chosen for such a competitive and prestigious scholarship.  The scholarship money will be used directly to fund my research in examining the role of parasitism in Gulf of Mexico fish.  Through this scholarship that you have offered me, a research opportunity has been developed that will benefit not only local fisheries, but an ecosystem as a whole.  Once again, I thank you for the opportunity that your organization has provided me and hope that I can exceed your expectations throughout the school year.



Colt Cook



Awards Program

Participate in the Club's 2011 Year Long Awards Program!  


Current Club Award results can be found at Awards Program.


Carry your verification forms and use one of the Club's official weigh sites and certified scales to get on the board.  Click here to download verification forms, review the Awards Program rules and regulations, as well as note the location of our four weigh stations.


Rules Reminder: Anglers, when you are about to release your winning billfish and are videotaping, remember to leave all billfish in the water.  Raising or boating a billfish for a video or picture will disqualify you.



International Division - As of 9/1/11 Buddy Schultz' boat "Gotcha" is still leading the Top Private Boat category with an incredible 38,100 points, John Richardson is still leading the Top Male Angler category with 12,300 points and Alicia Deerman is still leading the Top Female Angler category with 1,400 points.


Texas Division - As of 9/1/11, Brett Holden's Booby Trap is leading the Top Private Boat category with 19,900 points, Brett is also leading the Top Male Angler category with 6,100 points.  Sherry Potter is leading the Top Female Angler category with 1,400 points, Shayne Ellis is still leading the Yellowfin Tuna category with a 164 pound catch with Michael Fitzpatrick in a close second with a 141 pound catch. John "Buddy" Kantowski is still leading the Wahoo category with a 73.1 pound catch and Brett Holden is leading the Top Dolphin category with a 40.13 pound catch.
Membership renewals are due!  Renew your membership today!  Don't forget to include your crew and all anglers to insure everyone can participate in the Club Awards Program.


Family Memberships are now available!  Sign yourself, your spouse and your dependent children up.  Membership forms can be found at  Club Membership.


Sponsors of the Month...



Bealine Service





Paparda Rey 


Grifco Transportation


Since the inception of the Club, Jack Beal has been an active Member and supporter of the Club.  Owner of Bealine Service Co., a Corporate Sponsor for the last two years, Jack supports the Club not only by his Sponsorship but his active participation in the Annual Awards Banquet and the Lone Star Shootout.


Club Director Richard Richardson has actively supported the Club since 2005 as a valued member of the Club's Board of Directors.  Richard not only serves on the board, he also participates in the Annual Awards Banquet and fishes the Lone Star Shootout yearly.  Richard Richardson Insurance, TWFG Insurance Services has been a Corporate Sponsor since 2005.


Randy King, owner of Paparda Rey Fishing Charters, has been a Member of the Club since 2006.  Randy and his family not only donate monetarily to the Club, they also support the Annual Banquet each year and fish the Lone Star Shootout.


Red Griffin, prior Director of the Club and owner of Grifco Transportation has been a valued member of the Club since 2005.  In addition to his Sponsorship, Red actively supports the Annual Awards Banquet yearly. 


Thank you for your continued support! 



Send us your fishing pictures and stories! 
We love to include them in our newsletter and on our website and brochures!



2011 Board of Directors



Marc Gentry, President

Michael Thorn-Leeson, 1st Vice President
Deano Merrigan, 2nd Vice President
Randy Bright, Treasurer
Jim Peachey, Secretary
Kevin Deerman
Kevin Harper
Richard B. Richardson
Fred Pyle
Kirk Elliott