August, 2011

Corporate Sponsors




Galati Logo


Astrain Tax Consultants


Elite Diesel Logo


J&S Logo 



Performance Diesel Logo


 Texas Gulf Coast Refrigeration


Tilson Logo 




 Allure Logo

 Fox Yacht Sales Logo


   Gartner Coatins



 Harrah's Casino Logo


Las Terrazas Logo


Mojo Logo

 Pacific Pools Logo

Pelican Rest

Release Marine


The Tarp Depot




Bealine Logo


Cajun Canyons Logo 



Channell Glass



 Del Papa Distributor Logo


Farquhar Logo



 Isle of Capri Logo


Mechanical Contracting Services, Inc. 




Texas Legends Logo


Titan Tackle




Bac Trac Plumbing

Bart Reese - Merrill Lynch

Bay Point Invitational Billfish Tournament

Blue Water Chairs

Cat Spec, Ltd.

Central Texas Bar-B-Q

Garner Environmental Services

Grifco Transportation

Gulf Coast Composite

Haak Vineyards

Interlux Paint

J.W. Hall Enterprises

KMAC Specialty Services

Moody National Bank

Mundy Maintenance and Services LLC

Paparda Rey, LLC

Richard B. Richardson, Jr. Insurance, TWFG Insurance Services

Rick Bogert, Marine Artist

Serious Tackle

South Texas Yacht Service

Video and Boutique












On The Wire

Houston Big Game Fishing Club's Monthly Newsletter

News you need to know...


Lone Star ShootoutThe Lone Star Shootout has an exciting new date! Mark your calendars for July 24th to July 29th, 2012!  Yes, that is immediately following Poco Bueno.  The Tournament Committee felt that there are numerous benefits to moving the dates to late July, not the least of which is the odds of consistently better weather.  Many of our loyal participants also fish Poco Bueno and now will only have to make one trip to and from Port O'Connor for both events.  We also expect to draw additional entries as 100 boats will already be in Port O'Connor; making the decision to fish the Shootout easy.  Randy Bright has worked with the Poco Bueno team and Caracol to gain their approval and work out logistics.  As always their cooperation and support of the Houston Big Game Fishing Club is appreciated.  We are excited about the potential for growth the new dates provide and will be working hard to continue to make the Lone Star Shootout bigger and better every year.


Houston Safe Boating CouncilThe Club has proudly sponsored Houston Safe Boating Council's Water Activity Day Events (W.A.D.E.) again this year.  W.A.D.E. is a nationally recognized, award winning three day hands on training program developed to promote safe boating through education.


 WADE Photo 2WADE Photo


Once again, the 7th Annual Bloody Thursday Breakfast was a huge sucess!  The Club hosted over 100 members and corporate sponsors at the breakfast who all enjoyed Bloody Mary's, Josie's tacos and pastries.  We wish to send out a special thank you to Galati Yacht Sales for sponsoring the event and to long time member of the Club Bob Starnes for welcoming the Club back to his home in Port O'Connor for the festive party!


Congratulations to Club Members Mike Fitzpatrick and Tony Annan!  Mike caught the 1st place yellow fin tuna at Poco Bueno on the Legacy weighing in at a whopping 141 pounds and Tony Annan, owner of Reel Bounty, won 1st place wahoo with his 58.5 pound catch!


2011-2012 Scholarships have been funded!  We would like to congratulate Cullen Burch, Colt Cook, Michael Hoffman, Lakai Henderson, Colton Langridge, Jesse Lowe and Damaris Palacios for their hard work, dedication and determination to further their education. 


Club Record 

In 2009, John Richardson caught an International Division Club Record Black Marlin weighing in at 376 pounds! 


Awards Program

Participate in the Club's 2011 Year Long Awards Program!  


Current Club Award results can be found at Awards Program.


Carry your verification forms and use one of the Club's official weigh sites and certified scales to get on the board.  Click here to download verification forms, review the Awards Program rules and regulations, as well as note the location of our four weigh stations.


Rules Reminder: Anglers, when you are about to release your winning billfish and are videotaping, remember to leave all billfish in the water.  Raising or boating a billfish for a video or picture will disqualify you.



International Division - As of 8/1/11 Buddy Schultz' boat "Gotcha" is still leading the Top Private Boat category with an incredible 38,100 points, John Richardson is still leading the Top Male Angler category with 12,300 points and Alicia Deerman is still leading the Top Female Angler category with 1,400 points.


Texas Division - As of 8/1/11, Brett Holden's Booby Trap is leading the Top Private Boat category with 13,550 points, Brett is also leading the Top Male Angler category with 3,850 points.  Sherry Potter is leading the Top Female Angler category with 1,400 points, Shayne Ellis is now leading the Yellowfin Tuna category with a 164 pound catch with Michael Fitzpatrick in a close second with a 141 pound catch. John "Buddy" Kantowski is still leading the Wahoo category with a 73.1 pound catch and Brett Holden is leading the Top Dolphin category with a 40.13 pound catch.
Membership renewals are due!  Renew your membership today!  Don't forget to include your crew and all anglers to insure everyone can participate in the Club Awards Program.


Family Memberships are now available!  Sign yourself, your spouse and your dependent children up.  Membership forms can be found at  Club Membership.


Sponsors of the Month...



South Texas Yacht Services 



Yacht Equipment Services   




Titan Tackle




Release Marine




Since the inception of the Club, Founding Member Mark Grinstead, owner of South Texas Yacht Service and Y.E.S, has been a loyal member of the Club.  Mark actively supports the Club by generously donating to the Annual Awards Banquet.


Titan Tackle, a new Club Corporate Sponsor, supported the Club this year by donating a custom rod and reel to the annual Awards Banquet.

Release Marine, also a new Corporate Sponsor, donated a beautiful custom rocket launcher to the annual Awards Banquet.  They also donated a custom step box to the Lone Star Shootout. 
Thank you for your continued support! 




Send us your fishing pictures! 
We love to include them on our website and in our brochures!



2011 Board of Directors



Marc Gentry, President

Michael Thorn-Leeson, 1st Vice President
Deano Merrigan, 2nd Vice President
Randy Bright, Treasurer
Jim Peachey, Secretary
Kevin Deerman
Kevin Harper
Richard B. Richardson
Fred Pyle
Kirk Elliott