May, 2011

Corporate Sponsors




Astrain Tax Consultants

 Galati Logo

J&S Logo 



Performance Diesel Logo


Tilson Logo 




 Allure Logo

 Elite Diesel Logo

  Gartner Coatins



 Harrah's Casino Logo


Las Terrazas Logo


Mojo Logo

 Pacific Pools Logo

Release Marine


The Tarp Depot




Bealine Logo


Cajun Canyons Logo 


Caracol Logo


Channell Glass


 Consolidated Marine Logo

 Del Papa Distributor Logo


Farquhar Logo


 Fox Yacht Sales Logo

 Isle of Capri Logo


Mechanical Contracting Services, Inc. 




Texas Legends Logo


Titan Tackle




Bac Trac Plumbing

Bart Reese - Merrill Lynch

Blue Water Chairs

Cat Spec, Ltd.

Central Texas Bar-B-Q

Garner Environmental Services

Grifco Transportation

Gulf Coast Composite

Haak Vineyards

Interlux Paint

J.W. Hall Enterprises

KMAC Specialty Services

Moody National Bank

Mundy Maintenance and Services LLC

Richard B. Richardson, Jr. Insurance, TWFG Insurance Services

Rick Bogert, Marine Artist

Serious Tackle

South Texas Yacht Service

Video and Boutique












On The Wire

Houston Big Game Fishing Club's Monthly Newsletter

News you need to know...


The 2011 7th Annual Awards Banquet was a huge success!  Over 200 members and corporate sponsors enjoyed a fun filled night, delicious meal and awards presentation all while raising over $75,000!  We would like to thank our incredibly generous banquet donors and buyers for making this happen! Mark your calendars for the 8th Annual Awards Banquet, which will be held on March 31, 2012.


Warrior's Weekend will be held in Port O'Connor on May 21st, 2011.  The annual in-shore fishing tournament is held to honor wounded American Warriors and their families and friends.  This amazing event pays tribute to all service men and women who have made the supreme sacrifice for our nation's security and freedom.  For more information, please visit www.warriorsweekend.org


As of April 19, 2011, NOAA has reopened the last 1,041 square miles of area previously closed to commercial and recreational fishing in the Gulf of Mexico in response to the BP/Deepwater Horizon oil spill. Other federal closed areas, such as marine protected areas, remain in effect.

 Lone Star Shootout

2011 Lone Star Shootout 

will be held June 21-26, 2011.  Slips in our host facility, Caracol, are limited and filling up.  Slips are assigned based on receipt of entry so your early entry is encouraged and important. For more details contact the Club at 281-291-8889 or the Tournament Marshall, Randy Bright at 713-816-2165 or visit Lone Star Shootout.



Club Records

In 2005, Tammy Brindley caught a Club Record Yellowfin Tuna weighing in at 150 pounds!

As of 5/2/11, Derek Petersen is still leading the Yellowfin Tuna category with 80 and 51 pound catches. John "Buddy" Kantowski is also still leading both the Wahoo and Dolphin Categories. Current Club Award results can be found at Awards Program
Participate in the Club's 2011 Year Long Awards Program!  Verification forms can be found atAwards Program.
Membership renewals are due!  Renew your membership today!  Don't forget to include your crew and all anglers to insure everyone can participate in the Club Awards Program.


Family Memberships are now available!  Sign yourself, your spouse and your dependent children up.  Membership forms can be found at  Club Membership.


 Sponsors of the Month...

                                 Pacific Pools Logo


Farquhar Financial Services


Since 2005, Kevin Harper, owner of Pacific Pools, has not only served on the Board of Directors for the Club, he also just finished his term as President of the Club for 2009 and 2010.  In addition to his time served on the Board, Kevin actively supports the Club by donating to the Annual Awards Banquet.  Mike Johnston of Sullins Johnston Rohrbach and Magers has also been an active member and Corporate Sponsor of the Club since 2005.  In addition to his annual monetary contribution, Mike also donates to the Club's Awards Banquet yearly. Marcus Farquhar has been a tremendous asset to the Club by donating his financial services and expertise to the Club for the past few years.


Thank you for your continued support!



Upcoming Events...

The Lone Star Shootout, Billfish Tournament 
June 21-26, 2011
Port O'Connor, Texas


Bloody Thursday Breakfast

 July 19, 2011, 9:00am - Noon

411 11th Street, Port O'Connor, Texas



  Lady O Boat Pic

Send us your fishing pictures!  We love to include them on our website and in our brochures!


Board of Directors




Marc Gentry, President
Michael Thorn-Leeson, 1st Vice President
Deano Merrigan, 2nd Vice President
Randy Bright, Treasurer
Jim Peachey, Secretary
Kevin Deerman
Kevin Harper
Richard B. Richardson
Fred Pyle
Kirk Elliott