April, 2011

Corporate Sponsors



 Galati Logo

J&S Water Wells




Performance Diesel Logo


Tilson Logo 




 Allure Logo

 Elite Diesel Logo

 Fox Yacht Sales Logo

 Gartner Coatins



 Harrah's Casino Logo

 Isle of Capri Logo


Las Terrazas Logo


Mojo Logo

 Pacific Pools Logo

Release Marine


The Tarp Depot




Bealine Logo


Cajun Canyons Logo 


Caracol Logo


Channell Glass


 Consolidated Marine Logo

 Del Papa Distributor Logo


Farquhar Logo


 Serious Tackle Logo




Texas Legends Logo


Titan Tackle




Astrain Tax Consultants

Bac Trac Plumbing

Bart Reese - Merrill Lynch

Blue Water Chairs

Cat Spec, Ltd.

Central Texas Bar-B-Q

Garner Environmental Services

Grifco Transportation

Haak Vineyards

Interlux Paint

J.W. Hall Enterprises

Moody National Bank

Richard B. Richardson, Jr. Insurance, TWFG Insurance Services

Rick Bogert, Marine Artist

South Texas Yacht Service

Video and Boutique












On The Wire

Houston Big Game Fishing Club's Monthly Newsletter

It's Banquet time!


The 2011 Awards Banquet will be held Saturday, April the 9th at the Omni Hotel at 6:00pm.  Seating is limited, so RSVP today! 


We look forward to seeing you for a fun evening with your fishing friends, honoring those who have competed in the 2010 year long fishing tournament.


As in past events, we will have an open premium bar and a delicious meal all while raising money with an exciting raffle full of nautical decor, casino packages, signed prints, and boating accessories.


Our live auction boasts hunting and fishing trips to beautiful destinations such as Panama, Costa Rica and Belize along with hotel packages, custom works of art and much, much more all benefiting the Club's Charitable Programs.


We know how to throw a party!  Don't miss a fun evening with your friends and fishing buddies.


RSVP by calling the Club at 281-291-8889.



Lone Star Shootout


2011 Lone Star Shootout 

invitations have been mailed!

Tournament dates are June 21-26, 2011.  Slips in our host facility, Caracol, are limited and filling up.  Slips are assigned based on receipt of entry so your early entry is encouraged and important. For more details contact the Club at 281-291-8889 or the Tournament Marshall, Randy Bright at 713-816-2165 or visit Lone Star Shootout.

Tony AnnanClub Records
In 2008, Tony Annan caught a Club Record Dolphin weighing in at 57.5 pounds on the Reel Bounty! 

As of 3/30/11, Derek Petersen is leading the Yellowfin Tuna category with 80 and 51 pound catches. John "Buddy" Kantowski is still leading both the Wahoo and Dolphin Categories. Current Club Award results can be found at Awards Program
Participate in the Club's 2011 Year Long Awards Program!  Verification forms can be found atAwards Program.
Membership renewals are due!  Renew your membership today!  Don't forget to include your crew and all anglers to insure everyone can participate in the Club Awards Program.
Family Memberships are now available!  Sign yourself, your spouse and your dependent children up.  Membership forms can be found at  Club Membership.

Sponsors of the Month...

We would like to extend our appreciation to Cajun Canyons Billfish Classic, Elite Diesel Service and The Tarp Depot.
Cajun Canyons Logo           Elite Diesel Logo           The Tarp Depot               
Since 2007, Steve Thomas has been an active Member and Corporate Sponsor of the Club not only thru monetary donations, but also generously donating to the Club's Annual Banquet.  Elite Diesel Service joined the corporate sponsorship ranks in 2008. In addition, Elite Diesel Service supports the Club by contributing to the Club's Lone Star Shootout and the Annual Banquet. The Tarp Depot became a Corporate Sponsor in 2010.  Fred Pyle, owner of The Tarp Depot, is also a 2011 Club Director and active donor to the Club's Annual Banquet.
Thank you for your continued support!


Upcoming Events...
7th Annual Awards Banquet
April 9th, 2011
Omni Hotel, Houston, Texas



The Lone Star Shootout, Billfish Tournament
June 21-26, 2011
Port O'Connor, Texas


 Lady O Boat Pic

Send us your fishing pictures!  We love to include them on our website and in our brochures!


Board of Directors
Marc Gentry, President
Michael Thorn-Leeson, 1st Vice President
Deano Merrigan, 2nd Vice President
Randy Bright, Treasurer
Jim Peachey, Secretary
Kevin Deerman
Kevin Harper
Richard B. Richardson
Fred Pyle
Kirk Elliott