Access E-Bulletin
Disability and Communication Access Board
State of Hawaii    
SPECIAL EDITION - October 2010
architectural tools banner

The Disability and Communication Access Board
would like to thank all who attended our

on September 8, 2010 at the Ala Moana Hotel.


This year, over 280 individuals throughout the State attended to hear the exciting news from the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) on their adoption of the 2010 Standards for Accessible Design.  Hawaii was fortunate to be one of the first conferences nationally that hosted both the DOJ and the U.S. Access Board as they discussed the compliance date of the new regulations and some of the new ADAAG technical provisions.


This year's conference covered diverse topics such as Medical Facilities, Public Rights-of-Way, Transportation Facilities, Acoustics, Historic Preservation, Restaurants, Retail Facilities, Plumbing, Common Errors and Corrections and even an overview of the various accessibility laws, guidelines, and standards. 

We would like to thank all of our guest speakers, without their hard work and support we would not have been able to provide such a conference.  These individuals gave of their time and knowledge and we are extremely appreciative of their efforts.

This year's guest speakers were:   

                                                  Mr. John Wodatch

Ms. Marsha Mazz

Ms. Lois Thibault

Mr. Glenn Mason

Mr. John Harada

Mr. Paul Sheriff

Mr. Dean Aoki


We are pleased that so many of you turned in your conference evaluations.  We know how much information there was on the new accessibility guidelines and have taken all your comments into consideration.  Some of you have asked for more references that can be made available and many of you have requested additional training on the technical provisions on the guidelines.  Stay tuned for more upcoming information as DCAB is working hard to fulfill your requests.  We are planning to post soon on our web site more information on the relevant portions of the DOJ rules relating to facility design for Titles II and III.  In addition, we are discussing plans for an all-day training on the new technical provisions of the 2010 Standards for Accessible Design sometime next year.




DCAB would like to congratulate the winners of this year's 2010 Accessible Design Awards.  This year, four projects were recognized at the 2010 Disability Access Conference Luncheon.  Presented by Mr. Russ Saito, State Comptroller, the following awards were given to:

Award of Excellence
Hui Aloha Playground
County of Maui Department of Parks and Recreation

County of Maui Hui Aloha Playground Award of Excellence

(Go to to view project photos)


Award of Merit - Public Design

Kealia Pond
Space Options, Inc.

tessmer Kealia Pond Award of Merit

(Go to
to view project photos.)


Award of Merit - Public Design 
Wailua River State Park:
Marina, Fern Grotto & Opaeka'a Falls

State of Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources
DLNR Wailua River State Park Award of Merit

(Go to to view project photos.)


Honorable Mention - Residential Design

Ke Nani Kai Condominium
Accessible Walkway, Unit #134

Space Options. Inc.

Tessmer Ke Nani Kai Honorable Mention

(Go to
to view project photos.

Quick Links
919 Ala Moana Boulevard, Room 101
Honolulu, Hawaii 96814
(808) 586-8121 (Voice/TTY)  (808) 586-8129 (Fax)
Web site: